1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Screen Saver

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by tjhgr81, Oct 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tjhgr81

    tjhgr81 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Hello,

    Would anyone have any idea why the screen saver would just stop working in Vista? I've triple and more checked the settings to ensure that it's set to run after just a minute or two. For some reason it just doesn't even start up.

    I hope it isn't something really simple that makes me feel silly. But then again, maybe I do as I'd prefer no major issues. I'm just stumped!

    Thanks for any ideas.
     
  2. unbidden

    unbidden

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,469
    Try the following:

    click the START Orb - type in services.msc - search for ehtray.exe and disable it.
    Now check to see if the screensavers kick in.

    ehtray.exe is a media center file, if it reinstalls itself you may have to rename the file and then delete it.
     
  3. tjhgr81

    tjhgr81 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Ok. I found the Services easily enough...but saw no 'ehtray.exe'

    Any idea?

    Thanks!
     
  4. unbidden

    unbidden

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,469
    I was expecting you are running Media Center; that is the case with most users and this issue. I see you have a Dell, if the Dell Support icon is running in the system tray, try disabling it. If you don't use the dell support/updates and the disable works, remove the program. My thinking is it may be constantly phoning home and thus the screen saver doesn't engage.
     
  5. tjhgr81

    tjhgr81 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    I doubt it though because I don't currently have a constant connection, plus I literally just installed the Dell Support Center. It has been doing this for several weeks. Talk about frustrating...
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/756573

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice