1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

screen turning black

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by BradFazner, May 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BradFazner

BradFazner Thread Starter

hey sorry that i've posted this samish message in other forums, i'm new to this posting stuff.

when i start windows especially, my screen goes black anytime a program begins to load. it turns off up to 3 times every time a program is loading and then it's fine until i start another program. there is no blacking out during demanding video games. i have uninstalled and installed the newest video card drivers. this has been a bit annoying, but i installed linux and it is constantly turning the screen black so i am stuck with windows xp.
    this wasn't a problem before i bought a new motherboard and ram and processor.

thank you so much for any help!! this has just been annoying for soooo long and i havent found any of my friends that is smart enough to figure this out.

2. Gnomad

Gnomad

I would recommend downloading and running Memtest and use it to test your RAM.

3. BradFazner

sorry for taking so long,
    i downloaded the image and mounted it, but i don't think i know what to do with it, i also mounted the image and clicked on the boot file...should i burn this image and use it as a boot disc?

4. Gnomad

Gnomad

Yeah, you burn the ISO image to a cd and then boot from the cd. Let the test run overnight for more accurate results.

5. jamesx121

jamesx121

when I built my new system I was having trouble with my screen going black after
    about a half-hour of installing the video card, then restarting Vista.
    I would see the start post messages then nothing.

turned out when I originally installed Vista. it used a VGA driver during the O/S