1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

screensaver is not working

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by berndawg84, Jan 10, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. berndawg84

    berndawg84 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    163
    My screensaver never goes on after 3 minutes when it's supposed to. What could be causing this? I have heard that certain programs and services in the windows task manager under ctrl alt del, can make the screensaver not work. Anyone know a way to fix this, so that it always runs?
     
  2. computer-aces

    computer-aces

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 1999
    Messages:
    391
    What O.S. are you running? Have you tried other screen savers? Maybe just that one is messed up. If you just need the screen saver to save your monitor, set your monitor power settings to turn off the monitor after a certain amount of time. That's what I do. I don't run a screen saver. I set mine to 30 minutes.

    Cory
     
  3. berndawg84

    berndawg84 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    163
    i'm running on XP, and even my power settings won't work. Like if I set it so that the monitor turns off after 10 minutes, it won't work.
     
  4. asuryan

    asuryan

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    I have the same problem. Niether screen savers or monitor shut off work. I have posted my problem on here already. My ss preview, but do not come on and they have a webpage-like icon
     
  5. marklab

    marklab

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    244
    Maybe the APM in your bios is interfering with your SS. Try turning off all power saving options in the BIOS. Maybe this will help
     
  6. asuryan

    asuryan

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    I don't know how to do that
     
  7. asuryan

    asuryan

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    ok, I found my bios when I started the computer, here's what they said under power

    acpi funtion Enabled
    acpi suspend type S1
    Power management User Defined
    HDD Power Down Disable
    Doze mode Disable
    Suspend mode Disable
    Video off option Suspend->off
    video off method v/h sync + blank
    modem use irq 3
    sort-off by pwr-button instant-off
    intruder # detection disabled
    wake up events
    ps2kb wakeup select hotkey
    ps2kb wakeup from s1-s5 disabled
    usb resume from s3 disable
    vga off
    lpt & com lpt/com
    hdd & fdd on
    wake on lan diabled
    wake on pci card disabled
    wake on pci timer disabled

    irq activity monitoring Menu
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/112431

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice