1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Screwed Myself

Discussion in 'Networking' started by malodicone, Feb 5, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. malodicone

malodicone Thread Starter

OK, I got some stuff on my work laptop that i wanted to transfer to my home pc. my work laptop is on a domain, so that being the case i changed to my home pc workgroup. I rebooted the machine and now my login does not work.
    i am on windows xp sp2. I do have admin rights on my login name. is there a way to use the repair consol to roll back my system to a day before i changed the settings. or any fix at all. i really dont wanna have to look like a dumb *** and ask the admin to fix my notebook. funny thing is i have been a tech for about 5 years. not to hot on networking tho. i can do a home network but i dont know enough about domains and stuff to fix this problem.
    any help would be great...thanks

2. Mithrilhall

Mithrilhall

Can you log back on to the work laptop when you change to domain? If you can, you don't have to be on your home workgroup to transfer files.

3. DoubleHelix

DoubleHelix Banned

You have to log into the computer with a local account. You're probably using your domain account which will no longer work. Talk to your company's IT department about this. They may have some utilities to get you back on the domain.

4. malodicone

i dont have a local acount setup. i guess i will have to talk to the admin about this. thanks guys.

5. malodicone

also, if i knew more about domains this wouldnt have happend. and i have another wuick q. how come i cant boot the machine with a cd or what not and restore the registry like we used to be able to do in windows98. is it because of the file structure is ntfs? or is it some kind of malformed security issue?