1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Screwed up my color profile, can't reset?

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Silim, May 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Silim

    Silim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    I used a device called Spidr to calibrate my new monitor, and it created a new color profile that was made the default automatically, but it did a really crummy job and everything is all blue. I can't figure out how to revert to the default color settings. If you know how please be very specific and step by step because I am very unfamiliar with Vista.
    Also, I tried to do system restore, but it didnt work and i got an error message saying "an unspecified error occurred during system restore".
     
  2. davehc

    davehc Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,728
    Right click the desktop and select "Personalise"
    Select "Windows Colour and appearance" and go for the simple "Vista Basic" and Apply
    Now select "Desktop background" and choose, for ease of use, Solid colors. Pick a colour of your choice, I would suggest one of the darker blues, and Apply.
    Hopefully you now have your desktop back?
    You can experiment, through the same windows, with the Theme and other background options. None are irreversible so just crash in!
     
  3. Silim

    Silim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    That's not what I meant, I dont have a problem with the colors of the windows or other objects. The problem is with all the colors -- the entire monitor. I want to just go back to before i recalibrated it.
     
  4. davehc

    davehc Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,728
    Ok. Don't you have any buttons on the front of the monitor, to enable you to return to the default?
    P.S. Perhaps you should be posting this in the hardware forum?
     
  5. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    I searched around a bit but couldn't find anything called the "spidr". I did find a calibration device called Spyder 2, but I couldn't locate a manufacturer's website that might offer support. Is there anything on the device or the box that might tell you where to go for some help?
     
  6. davehc

    davehc Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,728
    I've just be experimenting with the display settings. Have a look here, it may be the solutin?
    1. Click on "Advanced Settings" in the "Display Settings" window.
    2. Select the "Color Management" tab.
    3. Click on the "Color Management..." button.
    4. Make sure that the "Use my settings for this device" is checked.
    5. Click on "Add".
    6. Select the desired monitor profile from the list.
    7. Click "OK".
    8. Click on "Set as Default Monitor Profile".
    9. Close all windows and reboot the PC. The profile and calibration settings will load at startup.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/715156