1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

script error

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by ian.t, Jan 26, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ian.t

    ian.t Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    312
    I am receiving a few script errors on web pages i am trying to access. The page loads but with the following message:

    "An error has occurred in the script on this page"

    "Do you want to continue running scripts on this page"

    I have the option yes or no !

    Could anybody please shed any light on this ?

    thanx

    ian.t
     
  2. PeteBaines

    PeteBaines Guest

    hmmmmmmm, i get the same msg sometimes but dont think much of it! the page usually looks normal!

    I hope some1 can help on this one, which websites does this do?

    I have a feeling that it is something to do with the way the page is written, not a fault of the browser. I'm not sure though!
     
  3. ian.t

    ian.t Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    312
    It has happened on several sites. Sometimes I press 'Yes' and sometimes 'No' but nothing seems to change. However, I was trying to send a birthday e.card and to do so I had to join (don't we always !) but when i clicked the 'Join' button nothing happened - perhaps this was to do with scripts ?

    I am using (the rather impressive)'Fastbrowser' at the moment so perhaps that's at fault ?

    ian.t
     
  4. baby_phat26

    baby_phat26

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    22
    I see that sometimes but I too don't think much of it I just click yes and the page usually runs fine. If it doesn't just click on refresh. If that doesn't work there is usually a problem with the web site.
    !*~Baby_Phat26~*!
     
  5. Ratboy

    Ratboy

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1999
    Messages:
    1,220
    ian.t,

    It looks like it uses Internet Option settings.

    Go to Tools > Internet Options > Advanced.

    Under the 'Browsing', make sure the 'Display a notification about every script error' box is unchecked.
     
  6. komputerman

    komputerman

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    "Display a notification about every script error" is unchecked in my settings but I still get the annoying messages!
     
  7. ian.t

    ian.t Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    312
    thanx !

    Already is unchecked.

    "disable script debugging" isn't unchecked though , as this got anything to do with it ?

    I haven't had any script errors for a while now so perhaps it is the web page.

    ian.t
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/66501

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice