1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

SCSI Drive install

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by RNandKT, Sep 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RNandKT

RNandKT Thread Starter

Lets start with the background on my system. I put together a system a couple years ago for my wifes home computer. I tried to put together something we wouldn't really need to upgrade as even though I work in the semiconductor industry I really am not a fan of new electronics (except the bigger TV, and what guy doesn't want that). So here is a the short list of my computer.

Computer was a Gateway Bare Bones BTX FX250 I bought for dirt Cheap

Motherboard included is a Intel D915GSE2

CPU I put an Intel Pent 4 3.8Ghz processor (socket 775)

The computer has 4 Gig of Ram (the max it will take) and it has onboard video, but I added a PCI video card to run dual monitors (I don't remember the model of that card at the moment I can check if needed).

And to the issue. The hard drive I put in it at the time of putting it together was a used 140 GB IDE drive from a previous computer. This hard drive is basically wearing out. It gets errors and continues to have issues. I constantly have to run check disks and defrags and it finds more and more bad sectors. It crashes and I get blue screen of death and so on.

So I decided it was time to put a new drive in it and since I was putting a new drive I wanted to upgrade. Maybe my decision making is really my issue. Anyway so I bought a Seagate SCSI drive. (It is a Seagate Cheetah, Ultra320 model ST3146707LC), and I bought a SCSI controller (Adaptec AHA-2940UW). Of course not knowing much about SCSI I found out as I went, and had to buy the 80 pin to 68 pin adaptor and then setup on the 68 pin SCSI cable.