1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

SCSI/RAID Host Controller Issue...

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by PSPete, Jul 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. PSPete

    PSPete Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    135
    Hi.. Im having a problem with my hard drive i think, when i boot up it stays on the windows xp loading screen for roughly 2 mins, and when it does boot up, i get the add new hardware box come up asking me to install SCSI/RAID host controller, ive tried clicking next next finish etc, but it cant find anything to install it... my computer has been running slow since ive had this come up, funnily enough it was roughly the same time i installed a new graphics card... its a Radeon 128mb 9600 series, ive also installed a wireless card and a soundblaster live sound card since, i dont know whether or not its anything to do with the new hardware, but i just thought it might be the problem...

    Ive looked just about everywhere for the SCSI/RAID Host Controller, but i cant find it anywhere, including the microsoft site.

    any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
     
  2. PSPete

    PSPete Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    135
    no one has any ideas then?
     
  3. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Pete

    My satellite internet is running very slow today. If I call Hughes they'll tell me the weather must be bad somewhere :rolleyes: . Beautiful day here but probably bad in India where Tech Support is. So if I suddenly disappear that will be the reason.

    What are your system specs?
     
  4. PSPete

    PSPete Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    135
    Ok, Thank you very much for the reply. xD

    OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
    Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2 Build 2600
    OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
    System Name BDAS
    System Manufacturer American Megatrends Inc.
    System Model K7S41GX
    System Type X86-based PC
    Processor x86 Family 6 Model 8 Stepping 1 AuthenticAMD ~1817 Mhz
    BIOS Version/Date American Megatrends Inc. P1.40, 2/5/2004
    SMBIOS Version 2.3
    Windows Directory C:\WINDOWS
    System Directory C:\WINDOWS\system32
    Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
    Locale United States
    Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "5.1.2600.2180 (xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158)"
    User Name BDAS\Ben Aslin-Smith
    Time Zone GMT Daylight Time
    Total Physical Memory 768.00 MB
    Available Physical Memory 365.20 MB
    Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB
    Available Virtual Memory 1.96 GB
    Page File Space 1.83 GB
    Page File C:\pagefile.sys

    Hard drive is 120gb, Samsung SP1203N
    Graphics is Radeon 9600


    Is that enough or do you want more info?
     
  5. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Is this your MB? Looks like an IDE only board. Don't know why it would be finding that controller. Any SCSI/RAID add in cards?
     
  6. PSPete

    PSPete Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    135
    Yeah it is only IDE, i dont know either... the only other card i have is Graphics, Sound card, and wireless network.

    Is there any hope? BTW the mouse jolts every 3 seconds aswell!

    Thanks for the replys
     
  7. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    How about any software like CD Emulators from Paragon or Daemon?
     
  8. PSPete

    PSPete Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    135
    Hmm nope i dont have deamon tools or anything, would a clean install of windows help?
     
  9. MaverickUK

    MaverickUK

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    941
    Probably, yes, but there is no need to go so extreme so early on, unless you really have nothing of value on the system and you don't mind spending an hour or so doing it! Go to device manager by typing "devmgmt.msc" in RUN. Check under drives, what is showing up?
     
  10. mclarenvj

    mclarenvj

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    652
    the easier way is to just put the windows xp pro sp2 install cd in, and then boot from there.
    before the installation starts it says to press F6 or somthin to install scsi/raid controllers
     
  11. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    mclarenvj

    That's not the problem.
     
  12. mclarenvj

    mclarenvj

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    652
    norton hes looking for the controller
     
  13. mclarenvj

    mclarenvj

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    652
    and its on the cd
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/590589

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice