Search Assistant in OE

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

neteal

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2001
Messages
22
I am having trouble customizing my search assistatant in OE 5.5. When I choose the customize feature, no matter what search engines I choose,( I usually pick MSN, Excite, and Northern Light) Wish7.com is the only search engine that the program allows me to use, and it isn't even one of my choices. When I choose the "only one search engine" option, I usually choose MSN , and that part of it works fine. I've gone through all of the steps several times on how to customize, but its not working. And its just been the last 2 months that I have been unable to customize my search. Any suggestions? Thank you.:)
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2000
Messages
2,984
This is just a thought: Use F3 and do a search of your C: hardrive for this file; sp.dll

Post back with your findings. :D
 

neteal

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2001
Messages
22
I did the search and it turned up nothing. Now what? Thanks again.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
Hi Em, welcome back. :)

neteal- Try this.

In Internet Explorer, select Internet Options from the Tools menu
On the General tab, click Languages
If English [United States][en-us] does not appear in the list, click Add

or

Select English [United States][en-us], and then click OK
In the Language Preference dialog box, select English [United States][en-us], and then click Move Up to place the selected entry at the top of the list
Click OK to close the Language Preference dialog box, and click OK to close the Internet Options dialog box
 

neteal

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2001
Messages
22
Thank you so much for the reply. I tried what you suggested and that didn't work either. I have been looking in the archives this afternoon and couldn't really find anything that helped. this is frustrating. Any other ideas? Thanks
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
Not offhand. The few times I have seen this problem there never seemed to be any real solution. Just happened to run across that suggestion while looking. I will keep at it and let you know.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2000
Messages
2,984
Thanks Doyce. Always here, just quite when I can't add my two cents worth. :D

neteal, it was a reach. I have seen this sp.dll file that sets the search feature in IE to one site and one site only. It writes to the registry and filters down through a web site often un-noticed by the user and installs itself in a sneaky way. Although you mention OE (Outlook Express) I assume you mean IE 5.5 (Internet Explorer) as I haven't see a search setting for Outlook which is an e-mail program that comes with IE. Maybe I didn't understand what you were trying to post.
 

neteal

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2001
Messages
22
Emtronics: you were correct , I meant to say Internet Explorer, not Outlook Express.
Doyce: I looked up the link you gave me, and tried the "reset websettings to original default". That did it. My search bar is working again like it should. Thanks to both of you for your help. I am so glad there is a site like this to help people out. Happy New Year!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top