Search page won't open

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mom5kids

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Messages
3
My daughter's computer won't let her open the search page. We can connect to our internet provider, but it keeps coming up that the page cannot be displayed or that no server can be found. We have internet explorer, and we even tried AOL but that won't do it either! We cannot find the problem!
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hi,

You mean, when you click the Search button on your Internet Explorer bar?

Try this:

Go to Tools/Internet Options/Programs, and click 'reset Web Settings

That ought to restore the default MS Search page.

Here's how to make Google (currently the best and fastest search engine) your default when you click 'Search':

http://www.google.com/options/defaults.html#default

Good luck,
 

mom5kids

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Messages
3
When we click on internet explorer, it says this page cannot be displayed. I tried doing what you said, no luck. I tried puting that address for Google as the default page, still nothing.Please help!
 

Brooks

Guest
Joined
Oct 30, 2001
Messages
2,323
Download this file to your desktop, and then double click it. When it asks "Are you sure you want to add the information" click yes. It will tell you that the information was added successfully.

This files is supposed to restore the IE search back to the default like when it was first installed.

http://www.google.com/default.reg
 

mom5kids

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Messages
3
I tried your suggestion. No luck yet. At the top of the screen it says res://C:/WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SHDOCLC.DLL/dnserror.htm
I don't know if this means anything, or not, but we need to find the problem!
 
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
1,199
Hi mom5kids,lets try and repair IE.Go to Start>Settings>control panel>add and remove programs>highlight IE and internet tools>click remove>this will bring the dialog box up>put a tick in repair IE,click ok.

Let us know if you get a clean repair.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top