search problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

babbio

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 3, 2003
Messages
29
I need help.I not that good with computers..so speak slowly please. okay when i hit the search botton(on the toolbar) on my computer screen a blank page comes up ,and my homepage is now blank..how can i fix this? thanks
 

babbio

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 3, 2003
Messages
29
Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
Scan saved at 1:51:38 PM, on 10/03/2003
Platform: Windows XP (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 (6.00.2600.0000)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe
C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\PESTPA~1\PPMemCheck.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\PESTPA~1\CookiePatrol.exe
C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboTaskBarIcon.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\CLEANS~1\csta.exe
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Broadband Networking\MSBNTray.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\devldr32.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\bobbi.BOBBI-4KDKHZ7V9\Local Settings\Temp\Temporary Directory 2 for hijackthis.zip\HijackThis.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\Program Files\Outlook Express\msimn.exe

R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page =
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch =
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant =
O1 - Hosts: 209.66.114.130 sitefinder.verisign.com
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {724d43a9-0d85-11d4-9908-00400523e39a} - C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboForm.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &RoboForm - {724d43a0-0d85-11d4-9908-00400523e39a} - C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboForm.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MSNSysRestore] C:\WINDOWS\System32\pc32.exe bg
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PPMemCheck] C:\PROGRA~1\PESTPA~1\PPMemCheck.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CookiePatrol] C:\PROGRA~1\PESTPA~1\CookiePatrol.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [RoboForm] "C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboTaskBarIcon.exe"
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [SysW8] C:\PROGRA~1\CLEANS~1\csta.exe startup
O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Broadband Networking.lnk = ?
O8 - Extra context menu item: Customize &Menu - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComCustomizeIEMenu.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Fill Forms &] - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComFillForms.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Save Forms &[ - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComSavePass.html
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Fill Forms (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Fill Forms &] (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Save (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Save Forms &[ (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: RoboForm (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: RF Toolbar &2 (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: IMI (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Messenger (HKLM)
O12 - Plugin for .pdf: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\PLUGINS\nppdf32.dll
O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...ple.com/drakken/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
O16 - DPF: {4C226336-4032-489F-9674-67E74225979B} (OTXMovie Class) - http://otx.ifilm.com/OTXMedia/OTXMedia.dll
O16 - DPF: {549F957E-2F89-11D6-8CFE-00C04F52B225} (CMV5 Class) - http://mn103.coolsavings.com/download/cscmv5X.cab
O16 - DPF: {556DDE35-E955-11D0-A707-000000521958} - http://www.ieplugin.com/uninstall.cab
O16 - DPF: {90C9629E-CD32-11D3-BBFB-00105A1F0D68} (InstallShield International Setup Player) - http://www.installengine.com/engine/isetup.cab
O16 - DPF: {C6B086D2-146B-47A4-A218-B82DCAF2D872} (cpbrxpie Control) - http://a19.g.akamai.net/7/19/7125/4007/ftp.coupons.com/r3120/cpbrxpie.cab
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O16 - DPF: {E2F2B9D0-96B9-4B25-B90C-636ECB207D18} - http://www.getweathercast.com/WUInstCAST.cab
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2003
Messages
1,241
Hi babbio, and welcome to TSG.. :)

Could you please run another scan, and check to fix the following. Next close all browser windows and check to fix the following entries, being sure not to miss any. Then click the Fix checked button..

R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page =

R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch =

R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant =

O1 - Hosts: 209.66.114.130 sitefinder.verisign.com

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime

O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Broadband Networking.lnk = ?

O16 - DPF: {4C226336-4032-489F-9674-67E74225979B} (OTXMovie Class) - http://otx.ifilm.com/OTXMedia/OTXMedia.dll

O16 - DPF: {556DDE35-E955-11D0-A707-000000521958} - http://www.ieplugin.com/uninstall.cab

O16 - DPF: {C6B086D2-146B-47A4-A218-B82DCAF2D872} (cpbrxpie Control) - http://a19.g.akamai.net/7/19/7125/4...20/cpbrxpie.cab

O16 - DPF: {E2F2B9D0-96B9-4B25-B90C-636ECB207D18} - http://www.getweathercast.com/WUInstCAST.cab


Then reboot download Spybot - Search & Destroy, from www.tomcoyote.org/spybot : if you haven't already got the program.

Now press Settings, and Settings again. Go to the Webupdate section, and check "Display also available beta versions".

Now press Online, and search for, put a check mark at, and install all updates.

Next, close all Internet Explorer windows, hit 'Check for Problems', and have SpyBot remove all it finds marked RED.

All you then have to do is go to Start | Settings | Control Panel | Internet Options click the Programs tab, and then click the Reset Web Settings button. This will set your home and search pages back to the MS default. You can of course then change them to something useful... :D

Cheers

Liam
 

babbio

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 3, 2003
Messages
29
Okay I got it,thank you thank you thank you!!!!.When i hit the search botton it comes up different then before. It was google now it's msn,can i change that?
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2003
Messages
1,241
No problem babbio.

You'll notice that most people who post advice have to post the same thing, ie. how to update spybot, many times a day. We just save it in word and copy/paste it when we need to. Obviously mine needs work.. :)

I haven't actually even read that bit for a month or so.. :D

Can you see a settings button when you open Spybot, babbio?

If Yes: Click it. Then click the Settings button on the new page. Then click the Web Update tab. You will see an option to Display also available beta versions. Click this to select it. Then press the Online button, you will see a button that says Search for updates. Click this, and you should see a list of updates in the main window. Next click Download Updates and when finished, you will have the latest updates (new information that Spybot uses to catch the latest Spyware) of Spybot.

If NO: Click on the button on the left, marked Updates. At the top of the screen there is a button marked Search for updates. Click this, and you should see a list of updates in the main window. Next click Download Updates and when finished, you will have the latest updates (new information that Spybot uses to catch the latest Spyware) of Spybot.


Then you run the program by clicking the Search and Destroy button on the left, at the top. Once it has finished scanning (typically between 5 and 10 minutes) it will show a list of what it has identified as being a threat on your computer. Each line has a little square box on the left. If you click this it will remove it.

You need only check the entries marked in red. Once you have done this, click the Fix selected problems button at the bottom of the screen. All done.. (y)

Hope that helps, let us know if anything else needs explaining, and I'll be glad to talk you through it. :)

Cheers

Liam
 

babbio

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 3, 2003
Messages
29
I When i hit the search botton(on the toolbar) it comes up different then before. It was google now it's msn,can i change that? Everything else worked thank you.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2003
Messages
1,241
Hi babbio, just saw your edit. I'm glad it's all working. :)

I'll leave that info up anyway, in case anyone wants to read it. (y)

Yes, you can now change your home and search pages to whatever ones you prefer.

And you're welcome, glad to help... :)

Cheers

Liam
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top