Searchv Trouble

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

WrakM

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 14, 2003
Messages
11
I’m having tons of trouble ridding my machine of Searchv and winshow. Here’s the HJT logfile after I threw our the winshow folder, ran CWS and Spybot, and immunized:

Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.3
Scan saved at 10:20:14 AM, on 10/14/2003
Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Program Files\Symantec_Client_Security\Symantec AntiVirus\DefWatch.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VS7Debug\mdm.exe
C:\Program Files\Symantec_Client_Security\Symantec AntiVirus\Rtvscan.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\Adaptec\Easy CD Creator 5\DirectCD\DirectCD.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\SYMANT~1\SYMANT~1\vptray.exe
C:\Program Files\ScanSoft\OmniPagePro11.0\opware32.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\mdrew\Desktop\HijackThis.exe

O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar_en_2.0.95-deleon.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar_en_2.0.95-deleon.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AdaptecDirectCD] C:\Program Files\Adaptec\Easy CD Creator 5\DirectCD\DirectCD.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [vptray] C:\PROGRA~1\SYMANT~1\SYMANT~1\vptray.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Hpppta] C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\HP PrecisionScan\PrecisionScan\hpppta.exe /ICON
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Omnipage] C:\Program Files\ScanSoft\OmniPagePro11.0\opware32.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanSoft OmniPage Pro 11 Registration Reminder] "C:\Program Files\ScanSoft\OmniPagePro11.0\EregEng\NAVBrowser.exe" /r /i "C:\Program Files\ScanSoft\OmniPagePro11.0\EregEng\NavLoad.ini"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - Global Startup: MSupdater.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar_en_2.0.95-deleon.dll/cmsearch.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward &Links - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar_en_2.0.95-deleon.dll/cmbacklinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Cac&hed Snapshot of Page - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar_en_2.0.95-deleon.dll/cmcache.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O8 - Extra context menu item: Si&milar Pages - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar_en_2.0.95-deleon.dll/cmsimilar.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate Page - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar_en_2.0.95-deleon.dll/cmtrans.html
O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Messenger (HKLM)
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\Parameters: Domain = ms.gettysburg.edu
O17 - HKLM\Software\..\Telephony: DomainName = ms.gettysburg.edu
O17 - HKLM\System\CS1\Services\Tcpip\Parameters: Domain = ms.gettysburg.edu

After rebooting and running Symantec Antivirus, you can see when you glance at the HJT logfile below that winshow is back, as is all of the Searchv material:

Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.3
Scan saved at 10:54:40 AM, on 10/14/2003
Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Program Files\Symantec_Client_Security\Symantec AntiVirus\DefWatch.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VS7Debug\mdm.exe
C:\Program Files\Symantec_Client_Security\Symantec AntiVirus\Rtvscan.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\Adaptec\Easy CD Creator 5\DirectCD\DirectCD.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\SYMANT~1\SYMANT~1\vptray.exe
C:\Program Files\ScanSoft\OmniPagePro11.0\opware32.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\mdrew\Desktop\HijackThis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http:/www.searchv.com/w/search.html
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://www.searchv.com/w/search.html
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.searchv.com/w/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = http://www.searchv.com/w/search.html
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch = http://www.searchv.com/w/search.html
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.searchv.com/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://www.searchv.com/w/search.html
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.searchv.com/w/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://www.searchv.com/w/search.html
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch = http://www.searchv.com/w/search.html
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = http://www.searchv.com/w/search.html
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://www.searchv.com/w/
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
O2 - BHO: WinShow module - {6CC1C918-AE8B-4373-A5B4-28BA1851E39A} - C:\Documents and Settings\mdrew\Application Data\winshow\winshow.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar_en_2.0.95-deleon.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar_en_2.0.95-deleon.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AdaptecDirectCD] C:\Program Files\Adaptec\Easy CD Creator 5\DirectCD\DirectCD.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [vptray] C:\PROGRA~1\SYMANT~1\SYMANT~1\vptray.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Hpppta] C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\HP PrecisionScan\PrecisionScan\hpppta.exe /ICON
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Omnipage] C:\Program Files\ScanSoft\OmniPagePro11.0\opware32.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanSoft OmniPage Pro 11 Registration Reminder] "C:\Program Files\ScanSoft\OmniPagePro11.0\EregEng\NAVBrowser.exe" /r /i "C:\Program Files\ScanSoft\OmniPagePro11.0\EregEng\NavLoad.ini"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - Global Startup: MSupdater.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar_en_2.0.95-deleon.dll/cmsearch.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward &Links - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar_en_2.0.95-deleon.dll/cmbacklinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Cac&hed Snapshot of Page - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar_en_2.0.95-deleon.dll/cmcache.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O8 - Extra context menu item: Si&milar Pages - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar_en_2.0.95-deleon.dll/cmsimilar.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate Page - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar_en_2.0.95-deleon.dll/cmtrans.html
O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Messenger (HKLM)
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\Parameters: Domain = ms.gettysburg.edu
O17 - HKLM\Software\..\Telephony: DomainName = ms.gettysburg.edu
O17 - HKLM\System\CS1\Services\Tcpip\Parameters: Domain = ms.gettysburg.edu

I’ve searched the TSG website for clues on how to remedy this and have even attempted a few of the suggested fixes, but I am a complete novice when it comes to messing with registry editing or anything else outside of windows. Is there anyone out there who can take a look at the above logs and walk me through a fix?

Thanks,

WrakM
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
2,438
I see no mention that you have tried Ad-Aware 6 to do a thorough cleaning of your unwanted files.

Go here for the free Ad-Aware 6 Personal Build 181: http://www.lavasoft.de/support/download/

Launch the program ... on the start-up screen, you will need to first run the Webupdate Feature (globe at the top), or click "check for updates" to get the Reference File up to date.

Please use the Custom Scan with Memory and Both registry scans ON. Also.... make sure that you activate IN-DEPTH scanning before you proceed.

Then see that you have these options checked:
Under Ad-Aware 6 Settings, Tweaks, Scanning Engine:
"Unload recognized processes during scanning."
Under Ad-Aware 6 Settings, Tweaks, Cleaning Engine:
"Let Windows remove files in use after reboot."

Next ...

Run Ad-Aware 6.
Mark the objects you wish to eliminate for removal. There are many options available with a right-click.
Make a Quarantine only if you do not have the Auto-Quarantine option ON.
Then choose "Next" to remove the chosen objects.
Finally ... Reboot

Please read http://forums.techguy.org/t164245/s.html for further instructions, settings , etc.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2002
Messages
1,344
Why download Ad-aware when the solution is available with HijackThis? How could it be any easier?
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
2,438
It is important for the reference files of SB and AA to be updated regularly ... finding things that escape detection (and submitting them) before they are "fixed" is IMO preferable for the longer term fight against this crap.

In this case, the objects kept returning, indicating to me that the user's SB wasn't killing the objectionable files satisfactorily. Hence my suggestion to run a different application.

Honest people can have honest differences about which program(s) they prefer to use.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2002
Messages
1,344
Download, install and run a different application as opposed to fixing O4 - Global Startup: MSupdater.exe with HijackThis?

Which do you think is the easiest option?
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
76
IMO I think an easier application is one that does not require at times several experts to review a log file and give their advice what to remove.
 

WrakM

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 14, 2003
Messages
11
OK. I did the fix Top Banana suggested, ran Adaware, though not the build mentioned by winchester73 (I'll acquire the latest build shortly), and thus far, no sign of either Searchv or winshow.

Is this type of highjacking a problem with other internet surfing software, or is it essentially an IE issue? If it is localized to IE, could someone suggest an alternate browser?

Thanks for the assistance!

WrakM
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2002
Messages
1,344
As you can see Ad-aware was not required in this case as HijackThis was quite capable of removing CoolWebSearch.
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
2,438
Well, since the user fixed things with HT first, I'm not surprised that Ad-Aware didn't find anything objectionable when run afterwards ... however, the point remains that a possible evaluation target was lost.

WrakM ... with regards to Ad-Aware, it is imperative that you always have the current Build and Reference File in use to ensure the proper detection and removal of objects.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2002
Messages
1,344
You're not saying that an out-of-date Ad-aware build using an out-of-date reference file would detect and remove a very recent CoolWebSearch variant?

You're not seriously suggesting that are you?
 

dvk01

Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
First Name
Derek
Originally posted by winchester73:
I see no mention that you have tried Ad-Aware 6 to do a thorough cleaning of your unwanted files.

Go here for the free Ad-Aware 6 Personal Build 181: http://www.lavasoft.de/support/download/

Launch the program ... on the start-up screen, you will need to first run the Webupdate Feature (globe at the top), or click "check for updates" to get the Reference File up to date.

Please use the Custom Scan with Memory and Both registry scans ON. Also.... make sure that you activate IN-DEPTH scanning before you proceed.

Then see that you have these options checked:
Under Ad-Aware 6 Settings, Tweaks, Scanning Engine:
"Unload recognized processes during scanning."
Under Ad-Aware 6 Settings, Tweaks, Cleaning Engine:
"Let Windows remove files in use after reboot."

Next ...

Run Ad-Aware 6.
Mark the objects you wish to eliminate for removal. There are many options available with a right-click.
Make a Quarantine only if you do not have the Auto-Quarantine option ON.
Then choose "Next" to remove the chosen objects.
Finally ... Reboot

Please read http://forums.techguy.org/t164245/s.html for further instructions, settings , etc.

Winchester73 & other lavasoft bods

Might I make a simple suggestion

Many of the forum users seem incapable of even updating their antivirus,( if they have one) even when that application has an autoupdate. Most seem to think that once an anti-virus is installed it always keeps itself up to date, the same with anti-spyware programs.

Would it not be preferable for adaware when it "comes out of the box" to have all the options you suggest as defaults and then the more experienced user can deselect the options as and when he feels that he has no need of them.

Why can't the auto update be included in the free version, which is the one that the vast majority of users use

I, along with other volunteers, spend several hours each day attempting to fix problems on these forums and anything to help with the work is well received.
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
2,438
Derek, I will happily pass your suggestion along to the developers ... I know exactly what you mean and have similar frustrations myself.

In this particular case, we will never know if running a scan with the current build and reference file would have detected anything. It is ironic that the reference file 01R225 13.10.2003 released YESTERDAY included updated signatures for CoolWebSearch (2 variants).
 
Joined
May 2, 2003
Messages
65
dvk01

Yes, we at Lavasoft agree with you on that and are planning a new approach to the "out of box' default options and tweaks....

The WebUpdate feature is simple to use and most people will not have trouble with it once they understand that it should be run before each scan.

I think it is a part of our duties as being people that volunteer help to new users to let them know that there are more steps involved in running any scanning\removal tools than just simply using them.
Keeping everything on their machines up to date is one of the first things that should be stressed to those having issues...

Have fun.......... :D
 
Joined
May 2, 2003
Messages
65
Originally posted by Top Banana:
You're not saying that an out-of-date Ad-aware build using an out-of-date reference file would detect and remove a very recent CoolWebSearch variant?

You're not seriously suggesting that are you?
That is rediculous, no one ever suggested running any software program that is not current for any reason.
I did not see any hint to that in any post in this thread.

Have fun......... :D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top