1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Security, WPA-PSK & WEP

Discussion in 'Networking' started by zerox01, Jun 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. zerox01

    zerox01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Hi,

    I wonder how one would be able to change the encryption from WEP to WPA-PSK?
    Do I need to contact my ISP or is this something I can do myself? :)

    thanks. :D
     
  2. kama64

    kama64

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    604
    You should be able to log into your wireless router and change it your self, what router you have?
     
  3. zerox01

    zerox01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Hm, it says XAvi X5258-P2 - never heard of it..
     
  4. kama64

    kama64

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    604
    Never heard of it either.

    Get onto whatever system is connected directly to the modem, and in a IE or Firefox address bar type 192.168.1.1

    If it prompts for a username and password try admin for both

    Let me know if you get that far, if not it might be a different ip or username
     
  5. invalidusername

    invalidusername

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    639
    All adapters in the network must be capble of WPA, some older adpaters (sepecially 802.11b) won't support WPA. What are those things that you have never heard of it (is that the router?).
     
  6. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    You also might want to do an ipconfig,just to make sure of the router/gateway address.
    As Kama says,it will probably be something like 192.168.1.1,but just to be sure.
     
  7. zerox01

    zerox01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Typing 192.168.1.1 doesn't work sadly, I tried that already and I just retried as well. It just gives 404 page.

    I don't know what else to do, I tried ipconfig /all and ipconfig as well and tried the ip numbers there, no luck.
     
  8. kama64

    kama64

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    604
    When you do the ipconfig /all what is the ip for the default gateway?
     
  9. kama64

    kama64

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    604
  10. zerox01

    zerox01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Yeah I went to that link also.

    For my default gateway it was a ip something with 200 something, I tried that one also but no luck.
     
  11. invalidusername

    invalidusername

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    639
    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.
     
  12. zerox01

    zerox01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    I have tried every single IP there, what else would you want to do with it? I am just curious...:S

    Besides, it's not english..
     
  13. kama64

    kama64

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    604
    Go ahead and post what Invalidusername requested.

    Also are you connected directly into the router?
     
  14. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Just FYI:I did a google search on x5258-p2 and all the hits were non-English,but I did make out the word "modem" in some of the posts.So,did you ever get an instruction manual in English with this "router"?
    I agree with Kama and Invalid.Post up an Ipconfig /all and lets take a look see.
     
  15. zerox01

    zerox01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Directly connected. I don't want to waste your time with the ipconfig one because I have already tried every single IP there unless there is something else you want to see? besides, it's not english.

    Thanks all though for your help so far.. :p
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/580054