security

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

MardyMar

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2001
Messages
4
Hello I'm new to this so I hope I'm doing it correctly. My question at this time pertains to when I try and go into my Bio's somehow I've put a password in and I don't even know how I did it. I'm trying to get into my Bio's so I can reformate my computer. Bottom line is I'm trying to strip my computer of everything and start over. If you can help please do.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Welcome to the Board :)

Once password has been set in the BIOS, if you've forgotten it, you must either remove the cmos battery on the motherboard for a few minutes to allow the BIOS to reset to defalults -- or you must reset it by using a shorting jumper which should be located nearby. Usually the motherboard will indicate which pins to jump.
 

MardyMar

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2001
Messages
4
Thank you Rollin Rog I'm going to log off now and remove the battery and see what happens. I'll get in touch with you when I log back on. And thanks for the welcome
 

MardyMar

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2001
Messages
4
Rollin Rog I wanted to let you know that I removed the battery so now I can enter my BIO's what I would like to do next is reformat. From what I've been told I can reformat through my BIO's and that would erase everything from my comp. and start me over. If you could explain to me how to do this I would be very appreciative. Thank you
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
MardyMar, glad to hear you now have access to the BIOS, but no you can't reformat through the BIOS, and yes when you do it will erase everything.

Best to post that new question in the Operating System Forum. Let people know how the current system is setup (more than one partition?) and exactly what you want to accomplish. They will need to know whether you have a full install Windows system CD, or a vendors "restore" disk. Formats can be relatively easy, or hell depending on what you have. Driver files for things like the video card and sound cards often have to be installed separately, once the format and Windows reinstall is done, so you should ensure you have those files or know where to find them.
 

MardyMar

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2001
Messages
4
Rollin Rog

Im going to go to the forum and ask my question I do want to thank you for all your help. Maybe we'll chat again sometime.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Okiedoke, I just don't want you to find yourself up the creek an no paddle :rolleyes: if you format without a clear idea of what is needed to fully reinstall.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top