1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Seeking Dos cmd help

Discussion in 'DOS/Other' started by dosls, Nov 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dosls

dosls Thread Starter

I am new to cmd line scripting. I would like to set up a script that runs each first day of the month to do the following:

Check to see if a destination folders exists.
    Currently the desitination folders are set up as follows:
    Y:\Destination\company1\year\monthname
    Y:\Destination\company2\year\monthname
    Y:\Destination\company3\year\monthname etc

I would like to make sure, for each company in the Destination folder, the subfolder Year exists and then the subfolder to year, monthname exists.

Then I want to copy from the source folders such as:

X:\Source\company1
    X:\Source\company2
    X:\Source\company3 etc
    So all the files in each of the source folders are copied to the corresponding destination company folder but in the subfolder for the corresponding month().

Then once all the files are copied, I can delete the source files in each of the company folders.
    Also, I don't want to have to hardcode all of the company folders in the source or destination folders. Maybe a loop can be created for each of the folders?

Can someone help me create a script to accomplish this?

2. Squashman

Squashman Trusted Advisor

I would assume you have the source folders created already with the company names with files inside the folders. If not how would it be possible to even do this.

It is easy enough to look at the folder with the company name in the source and create a corresponding folder in the destination.

3. dosls

dosls Thread Starter