1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Send notification from excel via email

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by FOS612, Aug 28, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. FOS612

FOS612 Thread Starter

Hi all,

I have an excel file from which I want notifications to be sent to a particular email address. I have seen several threads which are related to mine however I could not manage to do it. I am new to this stuff and need your help to explain the coding.

I have 2 columns (in red in the attached file) and I want a notification to be sent via outlook if the expiry is due within 2 months, 1 month and on the day as a reminder.

Another query I have is that this excel sheet will be used by multiple users. Will the notifications be sent each time a user will use this sheet?

Your help is much appeciated.

Attached Files:

2. Keebellah

Keebellah Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Hans
    First to answer your 'another query' question, yes, if you do not filter on the sent messages r the username the action will take place with every user opening / using the file.
    The sender will always be the user that triggers the macro.
    There are quite a few posts with similar and I would even say identical situations.
    I won't promise you anything but I'll download the file and take a look.

3. FOS612

FOS612 Thread Starter

Hi Hans,

Thanks alot. I have tried out some coding which I found here however and managed to send emails through excel however emails are being set irrelevant of the due date is less or bigger than 90 days. I want that an email is sent if the expiry is due within 90 days or less.

I have uploaded the file with the work so far.

Attached Files:

4. Keebellah

First Name:
    Hans