1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Sequences of correct-faulty boots

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Sboom, Aug 15, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Sboom

    Sboom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    I have sequences of one correct boot, one faulty boot.
    When I power-on my PC, I see the dvd driver led, I hear the floppy disk and the hdd but, before seeing any text coming from the post, the PC freezes with the text "no video input" on the screen. If I power off and then on, the PC it boots correctly and normally.

    What I've done so far with no joy (always the same behavior):
    - reset CMOS unplugging the battery
    - updated bios firmware
    - changed RAM
    - disconnected and then connected one at a time DVD driver, floppy disk, hdd
    - changed graphic card

    My (old) PC: mobo AsRock k7s8x, CPU AMD Athlon, DVD driver, hard-disk, floppy, graphics card Radeon 9200.

    An additional info: I'm driving crazy !!! :D
     
  2. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    I assume this is a desktop?
    Disconnect the DVD inside the case and try booting.
     
  3. Sboom

    Sboom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks for your reply.
    Your assumption is correct: it's a desktop.
    I followed your suggestion: I removed both the flat and the electrical cable from the driver and the flat cable from the mobo. Exactly the same result as always: one boot freezes, one boot goes OK.
     
  4. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    What else is connected to your computer, unplug everything except your harddrive, mouse and keyboard.
     
  5. Sboom

    Sboom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks for your continued support.
    Unfortunately I've already done it ! I strongly suspect something wrong in the mobo parameters: why should the PC always start one time wrong and the next correct ?

    Anyway I'll do what you suggest once again and I'll report back.
     
  6. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    Have you tried starting in safe mode?
     
  7. Sboom

    Sboom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    In the "wrong" boot I don't even pass the POST phase, the PC get frozen well before !!! When the PC boots normally I don't have any problem in the standard XP
     
  8. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    Have you gone into the bios and reset defaults?
     
  9. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
  10. Sboom

    Sboom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Yes, I did that

    I'll run the utility and post back the output ASAP
     
  11. tootle

    tootle Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Try a different power supply
     
  12. Sboom

    Sboom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    I'll disappoint you: I've forgotten that I erased XP and installed a quick DOS. I tried to run "your" utility through both Hiren's Boot and WinUBCD but unfortunately it doesn't work (I receive blank fields). I'll use other tools (SIW) to give you the info you asked me.

    Indeed the power supply is, with the mobo, the last device I haven't checked. I only have two concerns: 1) I'm more inclined to think that the culprit of this "flip-flop" error could be something with a memory 2) I don't have a spare power supply.

    Despite that I'll menage to find one.
     
  13. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
  14. Sboom

    Sboom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    No, David, I'm pretty sure about RAM, I would bet my...tennis racquets on that: I tested the RAM with memtest86 as first thing (everything was correct) and, despite that, I also tested the PC with other RAM.
     
  15. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    Did you test the HDD?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1065136