1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Sequential numbers in Excel 2010

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by obsie, Dec 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. obsie

obsie Thread Starter

Hi all,

I am running a few 'blank' invoices with different invoice numbers on each of them to send to clients. The number goes like this: 053/12 054/12 055/12 and want it to increase each time I print. At the moment, we do it manually and it takes forever and I am sure there has to be a macro that would do this for me but no idea how to do it. I'm a beginner with excel so really need some step by step help if possible.

The numbers are in cell J2 and in cell J49 (same number but on different sides of the invoice page). I obviously want the "055" number to go up but not the /12 as this represents the year.

Thanks for your help, it is much appreciated!

obsie

2. scotty718

scotty718

Yes, there is a macro that could do this, but I can help you better if you can attach a sample spreadsheet of what your invoice looks like. Once I have that, I can understand how it works and right the code to increase the counter.

3. Zack Barresse

Zack Barresse

Hi there,

If I understand you correctly, this should get you what you're looking for...

Code:
    Private Sub Workbook_BeforePrint(Cancel As Boolean)
        Dim WS As Worksheet, vVal As Variant
        On Error GoTo ExitRoutine
        Set WS = Worksheets("Sheet1") 'set as desired
        vVal = CLng(Left(WS.Range("J2").Value, InStr(1, WS.Range("J2").Value, "/") - 1))
        WS.Range("J2").Value = "'" & String(3 - Len(vVal), "0") & vVal + 1 & "/12"
        WS.Range("J49").Value = "'" & String(3 - Len(vVal), "0") & vVal + 1 & "/12"
    ExitRoutine:
    End Sub