Serial Adapter help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Coldplayer

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
31
My new pc didnt have a serial port so i bought a adapter and plugged it into my com connectors. So i install the modem and install drivers but under location instead of COM1 it says unknown and im unable to connect to internet. I cant query the modem either. How do i set the location of the modem to com1.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Let's see, no make/model of the modem, no version of Windows, no make/model of the adapter...

Perhaps if you supplied us with real information about the environment, we could be of more assistance. :)
 

Coldplayer

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
31
Its just a standard com serial adapter. Modem is a 56k netcomm mega I modem....im using vista 64bit atm..
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Sorry, but "standard com serial adapter" is a non-starter. It obviously has a make and modem. :rolleyes:

I think I'll let someone else work this one, I don't see that you're that interested in really supplying the information requested to actually allow us to help you.
 

Coldplayer

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
31
i already staated the modem in my above post..and its just a generic serial adapter which attaches to my COM headers. There is no brand or numbers on it.
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
A 64-bit operating system is a pretty good clue. Driver support is likely limited or non-existent. You'd have to search for specific chipset drivers or information for the card. And for that you need to know a lot more than "generic serial adapter". It has a manufacturer, a model, a chipset, an indentifier, something.

I don't know what to tell you about the modem. You may need 64-bit drivers for that as well which would involve yet another search.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top