Serial Error Message?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Analytic

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
29
Hey all, I've been getting this weird error in my event viewer when i check it. My comp has been shutting down randomly w/ no blue screen so I was like WTF so i checked and it's this thing that i have no clue... Here's what is says...

Source is Serial, Event is 36, USER is N/A

While validating that \Device\Serial0 was really a serial port, the contents of the divisor latch register was identical to the interrupt enable and the receive registers. The device is assumed not to be a serial port and will be deleted.

Does anybody know how I can fix this? It only seems to happen when I'm playing a game on my computer.. (warcraft)

thanks in advance :)
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
1,092
Analytic, Welcome to TSG
can you post the actual message for us to look at and research please.

Event Viewer Tutorial

Please go to Start - Run - type in eventvwr.msc to open the event viewer
Or;
Right click on my computer and choose Manage.
Computer Management window should open. “Maximize it”
Left side click on the plus sign next to Event Viewer and it should expand.
Click on Application first.
Click on System second.
and in the right side it may have;
(yellow) = warnings
(red) = errors
Types of events.
Double click on any one of them and a smaller window will open called Event Properties.
Click on the right hand side 3rd button down that looks like to tiny pieces of paper with the corners folded over and that will copy the information to the clipboard;
Then open NOTEPAD and hit Ctrl V (paste) and there is the information about the error!
***Save the file if needed and post on the forum.
 

Analytic

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
29
Here was one in Application:
Event Type: Error
Event Source: Application Error
Event Category: None
Event ID: 1000
Date: 9/16/2008
Time: 11:45:33 AM
User: N/A
Computer: HEWLETT-MY4V2YB
Description:
Faulting application war3.exe, version 1.22.0.6328, faulting module , version 0.0.0.0, fault address 0x00000000.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
Data:
0000: 41 70 70 6c 69 63 61 74 Applicat
0008: 69 6f 6e 20 46 61 69 6c ion Fail
0010: 75 72 65 20 20 77 61 72 ure war
0018: 33 2e 65 78 65 20 31 2e 3.exe 1.
0020: 32 32 2e 30 2e 36 33 32 22.0.632
0028: 38 20 69 6e 20 20 30 2e 8 in 0.
0030: 30 2e 30 2e 30 20 61 74 0.0.0 at
0038: 20 6f 66 66 73 65 74 20 offset
0040: 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 00000000
0048: 0d 0a ..


Here's the one I was talking about in System:
Event Type: Error
Event Source: Serial
Event Category: None
Event ID: 36
Date: 9/16/2008
Time: 12:58:07 PM
User: N/A
Computer: HEWLETT-MY4V2YB
Description:
While validating that \Device\Serial0 was really a serial port, the contents of the divisor latch register was identical to the interrupt enable and the receive registers. The device is assumed not to be a serial port and will be deleted.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
Data:
0000: 00 00 08 00 02 00 56 00 ......V.
0008: 00 00 00 00 24 00 06 c0 ....$..À
0010: 3e 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 >.......
0018: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
0020: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
0028: f8 02 00 00 00 00 00 00 ø.......


please i require help it JUST did it again =/ haha
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
1,092
The above information is to vague for me to figure out...

**can you see if you have any minidump logs please;


How to post a minidump log


I barrowed this great tutorial from;
Rollin' Rog
Moderator with 42,872 posts
I can run a debugging utility on the dump files if you do this:

1 > create a new folder on the desktop and call it "dumpcheck" or whatever you like.
2 > navigate to c:\windows\minidump and copy the last few minidump files to that folder. *this assumes 'c' is your boot drive, if it is not, substitute accordingly.
3 > close the folder and right click on it and select Send to Compressed (zipped) Folder.
4 > use the "manage attachments" in the "advanced" reply window to upload that zip file here as an attachment.

This might point us to a non Windows driver causing the error, if one exists for it.

Since almost all bugchecks can be caused by faulty ram, I would recommend you perform memory tests.

Beginners Guides: Diagnosing Bad Memory

Memtest86 - A Stand-alone Memory Diagnostic



If there are none, how to; Turn On Minidumps

If you haven’t already turned on minidumps, go to the Control Panel and follow these steps:

  1. Go to Control Panel-> Click on System Icon
  2. Advanced Tab
  3. Startup and Recovery -> Settings
  4. Enable Write an Event to the system log
  5. Disable Automatically Restart
  6. Select the following debugging information:
    • Small memory dump (64 Kb)
    • Small Dump Directory : %SystemRoot%\Minidump
  7. Confirm all and restart the computer.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
1,092
Can you post a screen shot of the error and save it to a site like;
http://imageshack.us/
Please...

How to do a screen shot;
Press the Print Screen key: that captures a screenshot of the entire desktop area, and places it in the clipboard.
Pressing the combination of Alt-Print Screen captures only the current active window.

By default, Windows does not save the screenshot to an image file; the user is required to paste the image into a separate imaging program (such as Microsoft Paint which is built-in) for saving. (To get to Paint click the start button,>programs,>accessories,> at the bottom of that menu is Paint).
Hit the red X as if to Close the window, and it will ask you if you want to save it?
Of course you do,
So give it an appropriate name and then save it in my documents or the desktop.
And then upload for us to see.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
9,028
What OS are you running?
Are you using a mouse connected to a serial port? Or PS/2 or USB?
Do you use a dial-up connection to the internet?
If so, are you using an internal or external modem?

Jerry
 

Analytic

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
29
@ speed_hog: I tried the dumpcheck thing and when I went into the folder there was nothing there.. I looked at the steps and all my settings are already set to those..


Here's the error screenshot you asked for, I hope I did it right :eek:

http://img242.imageshack.us/my.php?image=grrrxr5.png


@ TheOutcaste: My OS is Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition

I'm pretty sure I'm running my mouse through a USB port..

And I have cable so no dial up =/
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
1,092
Ok good job:)
Now what does device manager say?
were looking for yellow exclamation points and red X's for problems if there are none then you have no problems in device mngr OK:)

And good night to all I have been here all day and I am tired :)
Peace
 

Analytic

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
29
Silly question, but where's Device Manager and how do I access it? :O hehe
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
Right click My Computer, click Manage, click Device Manager.
 

Analytic

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
29
OK. Here's what i got under Device Manager: It has a red mark near ALi Fast Infrared Controller - Underneath Infrared Devices

And underneath Ports: It has a Yellow warning symbol near Communications Port (COM1) Here's what it says when i click it..

This device cannot start. (Code 10)

Click Troubleshoot to start the troubleshooter for this device.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
1,092
You need to install the drivers for those devices or unplug them from you PC to fix the errors the drivers are most like on the disc from the manufacturer of the device,
>>motherboard disc or
>>ALi Fast Infrared Controller:
I did this search:
http://www.google.com/search?q=ALi+...s=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a

**You can stick the motherboard disc in if you have one and point the faulty device to the disc... another words click install driver by right clicking on the device.
 

Analytic

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
29
K i installed that infrared thing but my comp still shut down twice today..

i dont even know if i have the motherboard disc sooo yeah.. What do you suggest I do? :/
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
9,028
The serial error probably has nothing to do with the random shutdowns, unless the game is trying to access that serial port for some reason.

The red X on the infra red means it's been disabled in Windows. If the IR is configured to use COM1, that might cause the yellow exclamation on the COM1 -- This can also occur if COM1 has been disabled in the BIOS -- sometimes windows can still see that it's there, so tries to load the driver, but can't communicate with it because the BIOS has disabled it.

I'm guessing this is an HP laptop? If you have both Infra red and a serial port (9-pin D shaped connector), Boot to the BIOS and check the settings.
If any of these have an Auot setting, try that first before manually specifying I/O and IRQ values.
I would make sure the serial port is enabled, on COM1, standard settings are I/O 03F8-03FF (sometimes shows just 3F8H instead of a range) and IRQ 4
Enable the IR port, and set it to COM2, typical settings are I/O 02F8-02FF (2F8H), IRQ 3
If there is a built in 56K modem, there may be settings in the BIOS for it as well, if so set it to COM3, I/O 03E8-03EF, IRQ 4 (sharing an IRQ with COM1 is usually not a problem)

If you change any of these settings in the BIOS, look for a setting named something like Reset Configuration Data and set it to YES or Enabled. This will force the BIOS to re-enumerate the hardware and report the new values to Windows.

Hopefully this will remove the errors in Device Manager and then we can see if that helps with the random shutdowns as well.

HTH

Jerry
 

Analytic

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
29
Uhhh k here's the thing.

I have no clue what you just said.

thank you for your time.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top