1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Server 2003 and DNS

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by crcook84, Jan 15, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. crcook84

    crcook84 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    439
    I've been slowly learning how to use Server 2003. I'm limited in what all I can learn. But, I figure whatever I can learn now, that's more information that I won't have to be taught later. I've gotten file sharing permissions based on user groups down. Now, I'm trying creating a sub-network within a lan. I'm using the server to hand out IP addresses. All the computers are connected to a switch connected to a second pci nic in the server and recieving ip addresses. (Note: If anyone's interested, the server's nic had to have a static address to hand out ip addresses.)

    I've got the onboard nic connected to the main router. The server and the router can continue to hand out separate IP addresses because the main router uses 64-254 whereas I've got 2-60. As such, they won't interfere with each other. However, I'm now trying to figure out how to connect my subnet (if this is the right word) so that i can utilize the main router's dns. I thought of a network bridge. But, I thought that that might override the server settings. I had a network bridge setup before on a computer with a network monitor and discovered that the bridge bypassed the network monitor. Is there a way to have my server hand out ip addresses while still forwarding dns traffic to the router?
     
  2. crcook84

    crcook84 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    439
    Scratch network bridging. It bypassed the dhcp in server 2003.
     
  3. crcook84

    crcook84 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    439
    Can I assume by no responses that my wanting to do computer=>Server 2003 computer (/w DHCP)=>router=>internet isn't possible?
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1085433

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice