1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Server 2012 R2 Essentials - Dashboard Does Not Function

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by MattGreer, Apr 10, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MattGreer

MattGreer Thread Starter

First Name:
    Matt
    I'm a hobbyist with computers. I built a server from scratch and using a guide (Using Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials by Terry Walsh and Jim Clark) I installed the OS successfully, setting up backups and users. I added Stablebit Drivepool and Scanner at the beginning; those are the only add-ins/programs I've added with the exception of the APC software to shut the server down should the UPS run out of battery. Added storage, backed stuff up, everything seemed to be just fine for the past couple years. The server has been running just fine for two years.

I don't often log into the server as it does it's job backing up and storing files just fine. Seems to continue doing that. Recently when I try to start the server Dashboard from a client, the screen comes up and says "logging out..." and the window immediately closes. When I try to start the Dashboard on the server itself, it just simply won't come up. I've tried locally on the server as well as from Remote Desktop. Locally and RDP the Dashboard just won't even come up.

I tried restoring from the earliest backup I have but the issue is still there, so I don't know how long this has been a problem. At least two months it seems.

The server seems to be doing its job tho, backups I believe are happening, files are being stored as always, nothing seems amiss. I just don't know enough about the software to use the built-in apps to manage what's going on.

Questions/Options
    • Is there a way to reinstall the Dashboard?