Server password LOST!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

tushkahoma

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 29, 2002
Messages
221
We recently changed the password on one of our servers but lost it, how can we get logged back into windows 2000 server?

Up The Creek
 

tushkahoma

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 29, 2002
Messages
221
Has anyone ever used a program like this one? It sounds like the only thing I will have to do is re-add the users and give them new passwords. I hope this works.
 

tushkahoma

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 29, 2002
Messages
221
I took it home and tested it on my computer, at first it change my password but not to what I set, then I tried blanking it and it worked, I will now use it on the server, awesome program saved my bacon!
Thanks Alot
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
I've only ever used it to nuke the password, someone advised me that it didn't work properly changing the password. However, with a blank admin password, the rest is easy. :)
 

tushkahoma

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 29, 2002
Messages
221
You know what I tried it on the w2k server and it said that it was blanking the admin password but then when I went to log in without a password it still would not let me in. So I tried it again and this time it said the password was already blank and could not be changed, still a mystery. I will try and see if there are any other admin passwords on other partitions.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Originally posted by tushkahoma:
You know what I tried it on the w2k server and it said that it was blanking the admin password but then when I went to log in without a password it still would not let me in. So I tried it again and this time it said the password was already blank and could not be changed, still a mystery. I will try and see if there are any other admin passwords on other partitions.
Wild guess, are you sure the login is being processed by that server? I've used this on a W2K server and it worked as advertised, so I'm not sure what's going on in your case.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top