Service Pack 1

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

usintheuk

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
24
I have been trying to install SP1 on Vista. It goes through the install process but after it restarts i get the message acpi.sys is missing or corrupt. I have turned acpi of in bios and my pc wont start at all. I had previously installed sp1 rc and then installed it.
 

alwrmc

B.L.
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Messages
1,231
I cannot be certain on this as I do not have access to your computer. Did you uninstall the Vista SP1 RC? If not that must be done before you install the final version of Vista SP1.
 

usintheuk

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
24
I have uninstalled it but if i remember correctly i think i had to make an adjustment to the registry but cant remember. Also i don't have sp1 coming through windows update i get it from a separate download
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,143
I have uninstalled it but if i remember correctly i think i had to make an adjustment to the registry but cant remember. Also i don't have sp1 coming through windows update i get it from a separate download
It could be the down loaded copy that is giving you issues.
Have you tried using the Windows or Microsoft update method?
If not, try it and then let us know what happens.
 

usintheuk

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
24
I am unable to get the download via the normal update system. I will download the file direct from microsoft again and see if it works.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2002
Messages
937
I am also unable to get the download from the Windows update, but it is because of the sound driver which is prior to the version that SP1 requires. Are you sure you do not have a driver incompatibility issue?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top