1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

service pack 4 make computer unhappy?!?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by gooberinneed, Oct 9, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gooberinneed

gooberinneed Thread Starter

well, this is my first time posting on TSG and I hope i dont humiliate myself completely first time out (most likely tho = p)

Ok, to the problem at hand. So earlier today I was trying to access some adobe acrobat reader files, so i downloaded the software to view it, but to install i needed windows service pack 2 or higher. So I went to microsoft web site and downloaded express installer and had windows service pack 4 to install ( i went direct from original windows 2000 to sp4, is that a big oopsie right there?:confused: )

It prompted me to restart right after I did that, I didn't because i wanted to save a powerpoint document i was working on for school. So I restarted about five minutes later . . . It got to login screen, then restarted itself. . . got to login screen, then restarted again. . . ??? repeated that since....

I have a version of Norton Antivirus on my comp and I let the liveupdate run when it wants to. . .

Did i just make a big boo boo, or is this truly something beyond my semi-computer-literate self.:(

goober

P.S. Am I going to have to reformat? I am going to lose a lot of important files and I would like that to be a last last last resort.

2. Rache

Rache Banned

Can you get into safemode; I'd suggest uninstalling sp4 and see if that clears it. Then install the sp's in order.

If that's no good try a repair using os disc.

If the worst comes to the worst you can always install w2k on another partition (you do have another hd?) then you can copy stuff across hd's.

3. DaveBurnett

DaveBurnett Account Closed