1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Set association control panel.

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by rljsavage, Sep 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rljsavage

    rljsavage Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    How do I create an association in the set association control panel. I have windows vista.
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    11,858
    select the extension and then select the "Change program" buttom and browes to the program that you want to ALWAYS use. Then OK yourself out.
     
  3. rljsavage

    rljsavage Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    what is the extension. How do i choose an extension
     
  4. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    11,858
    what is the extension.
    The last 3 characters of a file name after the "dot"

    How do i choose an extension
    Click on one that is displayed in the listing of extension found on your machine.
     
  5. Keymac

    Keymac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Dave,
    I used your reply tonight and was able to rectify my problem within minutes... with all the things there are to remember it is nice to know there are go-to guys out there...thanks again!(y)
     
  6. camm

    camm

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Where is the Change program button?
     
  7. camm

    camm

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Actually where is the set association control panel. I have windows vista.
     
  8. ddotkalana

    ddotkalana

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    click start, all programs, default, then click on associate a file type or protocol with a program-this is the set association control panel and the extensions are in the box- click the extension you need, then click the change programs button and select the program you want to open it
     
  9. Tagagone

    Tagagone

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    click start, all programs, default, then click on associate a file type or protocol with a program-this is the set association control panel and the extensions are in the box- click the extension you need, then click the change programs button and select the program you want to open it

    Here it is 5/18/08...and this information is still helpful to me. Worked Great. Simple instructions, not too wordy.
     
  10. Keymac

    Keymac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    I recently tried to upgrade from 4G DIMM DDR2 240 pin RAM by switching out my 4 1G sticks with 4 2G RAM. I installed 2 brands (first attempt -GB & second attempt Kingston) and in both instances my ATI video drivers go missing and Vista reports video scores of 1, where in the past the score was 5.9. I eventually re-formatted and re-installed Vista however after updating the ATI drivers and re-booting, the drivers had gone south again! Has anyone seen anything similiar or am I missing some obvious conflict?

    My system is composed of: Intel D975XBX2 motherboard, Intel Quad core Q6700 CPU, ATI RAdeon HD3870 512MB Video.

    *** all drivers/updates/patches & BIOS are latest available***

    Any help is greatly appreciated!
     
  11. stonemania

    stonemania

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    "set association control panel
    click start, all programs, default, then click on associate a file type or protocol with a program-this is the set association control panel and the extensions are in the box- click the extension you need, then click the change programs button and select the program you want to open it "


    I have followed this action exactly and still I am reciving a message saying the file does not have a programme associated with it and to create an association in the set associations control panel. If I save the attachment to a file, then I can open it and I can open all other attachments just not pdf ones directly from an email!

    Any help would be appreciated!

    Thanks!
     
  12. tech-win

    tech-win

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    203
    Which PDF viewer (and version number) have you installed?
     
  13. stonemania

    stonemania

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Adobe Reader 9, came with my new pc and windows vista.
     
  14. tech-win

    tech-win

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    203
  15. stonemania

    stonemania

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for that, it looked good as explained the exact problem I'm having but still didn't work! :-( I'm going to try the option for repairing microsoft word next, see if that helps! Thanks all the same!
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/618293