1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

setting hdparm every boot?

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by paulb100, Jan 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. paulb100

paulb100 Thread Starter

can anyone help me set hdparm to run at every boot on ubuntu?

im a complete noob so simple instructions please, my laptop hard-drive is going crazy with the linux "parking heads" issue - i have a fix to try but i need it to run at boot - its the hdparm -B 254 /dev/sda thingy but it resets every boot

im on ubuntu 64-bit

thanks

2. saikee

saikee

hdparm is a Bash command and needs the kernel available first. I wouldn't have thought you can set it a boot time.

After Ubuntu has been booted up you can always issue it as a script which should give the same result.

3. lotuseclat79

lotuseclat79

Hi paulb100,

You need to be root to edit the file /etc/rc.local file which should already have executable permission.

I would first save the original file by renaming it to rc.local.original, and then cp -p rc.local.original rc.local and then edit the rc.local file, followed by reboot (if you have an installed Ubuntu 10.10 system (Maverick Meerkat). If it does not work on reboot, then revert the change by simply issuing the command: in /etc: mv rc.local.original rc.local, and then reboot.

For example,
    $ sudo -i
    # cd /etc
    # cp -p rc.local rc.local.original
    # vi rc.local (edit the rc.local file)
    (insert the hdparm command before the exit 0 command)
    :wq (to exit vi)
    # shutdown -h now (to reboot immediately)

-- Tom

4. paulb100

paulb100 Thread Starter

thanks Tom .but... quote "m a complete noob so simple instructions please," hehe