Setting up a D'link router, DI-524

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dondanger

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
Messages
5
Hi, I'm trying to set up my router. I have it reset. Start with the modem and and plugging in the first ethernet cable in, then from there take that cable into the WAN of the router. I try to connect wirelessly with my desktop and an unable to maintain a connection. I've run the Setup Wizard and put the thing to Dynamic. I've tried static IP addresses, but I'm unsure of the problem. Thanks in advance.
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
607
Just so i understand you reset your router to factory settings?
What happens specifically when you try and connect wirelessly? how did u setup the wireless on the router?

infact detail of settings you setup on the router would be helpful. No specific details needed such as username and password for you ISP, just what sections you setup on the router, what you did? what IP addresses you used etc.

also What ISP are you using to connect?
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
607
Im assuming to setup your router, you hardwired it to your machine... also assuming internet works when your hardwired to the router and only the wireless is not working?
 

dondanger

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
Messages
5
I do not hardwire while setting up the router. I'll try that tomorrow when I'm able to since the router is in another room with people sleeping.
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
607
KK definately check all settings and whats working while you are hardwired to router before we look at wireless problems.
 

dondanger

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
Messages
5
So here I am setting up the hardwired connection. An ethernet cable from the modem to WAN and another ethernet cable from the router to my desktop. Not sure of what to do now. D: Bottom right says I have access to dlink(assuming this is the wireless network) and Unidentified Network/No Network Access.

EDIT: So I finally lost connection with a static ip address, wirelessly. Tried dynamic and lost that too. Only way that I'm connected now is because I took the ethernet cable from the modem and plugged it into the router's 1-4 slots. This has been my only consistent way of gaining access to the internet, however it's not desired and I frequently get disconnected every 30 minutes for a good minute then regain connection.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
Are all the lights correct on the modem and on the router when you have the modem connected to the wan port of the router

connect pc to the LAN port of router and then loginto the route
the default for that model is
Open the web browser
 Type in the IP Address of
the Router (http://192.168.0.1)

Type admin in the User Name field
Leave the Password blank
Click OK
Now check the wireless is enabled and if any security is set

If the lights are all OK and the security for wireless is disabled

connected with a cable
lets see an ipconfig /all ping tests and an xirrus screen shot


------------------------------------------------------------------------
{ipconfig /all}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
-> Start
-> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all
-> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all

A black box will appear on the screen -
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy

then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
{Ping Tests}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

Type the following command
Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
post back results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
{run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
Then run and install the program
if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

Run the program

post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top