1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Setting up a workgroup over a campus LAN

Discussion in 'Networking' started by rdrnr68, Jan 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rdrnr68

rdrnr68 Thread Starter

I am a college student and some of my fellow students and I are trying to set up a workgroup over the campus LAN to work on projects and such. I am running XP pro and they are running XP home. The workgroup is set up, but the only computer I see in My Network Places is my own and it is the same for my friends. I am lost at this point and don't know what to try next so we can see eachother's computers. Any advice is much appreciated. Thank You

2. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

My guess is you are not in the same subnet, so this is probably not going to work without help from the college IT dept.

To confirm this, on two of the computers attempting to connect, do this:

Open a DOS window and type:

IPCONFIG /ALL >C:RESULT.TXT

Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.

3. Bob Cerelli

Bob Cerelli

The basics for troubleshooting are:

1. Make sure you have the same IP scheme (e.g. 192.168.0.x).

2. Make sure you have the same Subnet Mask, Gateway, and DNS IP addresses.

3. Make sure you can ping the other computer's IP address. If this fails, just for testing, make sure you turn off XP's as well as any other firewall.

4. Make sure you can ping the other computers by name.

5. Make sure you have the same workgroup name (watch for trailing spaces)

6. For troubleshooting purposes, turn off XP's and completely uninstall any other firewall software. You can always add more complexity after you get it working.