1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Setting UP Auto Logon Procedure

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by josswallace, Jan 2, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. josswallace

josswallace Thread Starter

Currently at home I have setup both mine and my wife's Windows 7 Desktops to to shut down and start up agin over night and run a nightly back up service. I am not that technical and it took e quite a lot of effort to get it all working. Our PC's are set up to sign on without having passwords as both Pc's have only one user and a guest.

I now want to investigate accessing my PC remotely and the first thing I have learnt is that I will have to allocate a password to be able to do this remotely.

Can anyone point me to any help on being able to set this up but still maintain the ability to auto shut down and restart.

Any help would be appreciated.

2. dmccoy

dmccoy

First Name:
    Darrin
    I am not sure what remote software you are looking at. I mainly use teamviewer which can be setup as unintended mode to be accessed anytime the computer is on or even waked via Lan.

To change your computers to login automatically
    1. Go to start menu
    2. type netplwiz
    3. Select netplwiz and open
    4. Uncheck the option for "users must enter password ...."
    5. Click Apply
    6. Enter the password and select OK

Attached Files:

3. josswallace

josswallace Thread Starter

Thanks for your response. I wasn't particularly looking at any software other than whats available in Windows.

At the moment my PC's close down overnight and reboot and I hav the normal windows screen available in the morning.