Setting up auto restart

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

plvness

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 28, 2007
Messages
247
OK I need to have my system restart automatically maybe at 3 in the morning the reason is that I have the nettalk its like the magic jack but it needs to be restarted every so often or I cant send or recieve calls so figured use the USB on my desktop to power it and set my system to restart maybe at 3 in the morning so can anybody tell me how to set that up thanks
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
3,791

You'd have to leave the computer powered up and in Standby then set a Scheduled Task in Control Panel to wake it from Standby - perhaps somethign unrelated like a virus scan to start at 03:00. Remember to shut the machine down at least once a week, though - systems benefit from clearing out the RAM from time to time.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
119
Pretty easy, actually, but I'd never tried this before. Use notepad, or a similar text editor and type the following:

Code:
 shutdown /r
Save the file as "restart.bat", and note the location.

Open the Task Scheduler (In XP: Start -> Programs -> All Programs -> Accessories -> System Tools -> Scheduled Tasks

When Window Opens, click "Add Scheduled Task" to open the wizard

Click Next

Click the Browse button and browse to the location where you saved the restart.bat file

Select the restart.bat file and just follow the prompts out of the wizard, making the selections that are appropriate for your needs.

Note: You should be very careful to schedule this task to run at a time when no other processes are running (e.g., Windows Update, Disk Defragmenter, etc.) or it may wreak havoc for you. Google "cmd shutdown" to get more options for the shutdown command, if you want them.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
119
Saga Lout's post did remind me that you need to adjust the Advanced Settings for the Scheduled Task to allow it to wake the computer from standby. There are many Advanced Settings you may need to use. You can access the Advanced Settings during the wizard by checking the "Open Advanced Settings After I Click Finished" box on the last page. If you miss it there, you can open the Scheduled Task list and right-click the task to access the Properties.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
3,791
shutdown /r

I think I know where you're going but my reading of the OP's situation is not that he wants to prevent or cause a shutdown - just to burn some more electricity. :D

Also, is not the switch in this instance a hyphon (-) rather than an oblique stroke (/)
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
119
OK I need to have my system restart automatically maybe at 3 in the morning
I think he or she wants to restart, but I could be wrong. I know that the "/" works. The hyphen may, as well, I haven't tried that.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
119
I'm sure the solution I posted above isn't the only one, perhaps not even the best one, but, if implemented correctly, it will definitely work.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top