Setting Up new internet

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Genderhawk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2006
Messages
3
I have recently re-installed windows and I have been unable to set up my cable internet connection. I have isolated the problem and I think my computer is not recognizing my network card. When I go and look at my hardware it has a big yellow checkmark beside the words "Ethernet Controller". I think I have to find the drivers for my ethernet card but I am not sure. When I physically opened my computer up and looked at it the controller it says "Foxconn" and has the code "4071-J51". I suppose that is the model number but I have had no luck finding any Foxconn drivers that seem compatible with my mobo. Does anybody know of any generic Microsoft or Intel ethernet card drivers that I have been over looking. My motherboard is a D865GBF by the way.

All help is appreciated
 

Genderhawk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2006
Messages
3
I tried your link with no success, but what is "NIC onboard the motherboard"?
 

Genderhawk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2006
Messages
3
I tried to download that file and got same result, still said that it needs the drivers. I need a better way to find out if I am even looking at the right chip.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,556
Ethernet NIC's are very cheap, if you can't find the drivers for that one or identify the model, get an $8 NIC and it'll come with drivers.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2003
Messages
21
You said that you had a D865GBF motherboard. That's an intel motherboard. (Says google) That link that I posted earlier is the driver download page for the Intel® Desktop Board D865GBF. I'm not familiar with that MB, but it tells me that there is a network card built onto the motherboard. Are you trying to install a second network card? Or is the network port right on the main board?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,556
Good point, I assumed from the first message that he had a separate NIC.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top