1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

setting up outlook express as email

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by GLYNNROY, Feb 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. GLYNNROY

    GLYNNROY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    553
    I am having problems setting my email account up as I am not sure what I am doing I have followed the help instruction but my email doesnt want to go anywhere
     
  2. golferbob

    golferbob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,896
    these are the settings for my verizon dsl . i hope they point you where you need to go.


    From the Tools menu, choose "Accounts."
    Select the "Mail" tab.
    Click the "Add" button.
    From the Add menu, click "Mail."
    In the text box labeled "Display Name," type your name and click "Next."
    In the Email Address box, type your Verizon Yahoo! Mail address (be sure to include the portion of your address after the "@" symbol) and click "Next."
    Under "My incoming mail server is a..." select "POP3."
    Type "incoming.yahoo.verizon.net" in the Incoming Mail (POP3, IMAP, or HTTP) Server box.
    Type "outgoing.yahoo.verizon.net" in the Outgoing Mail (SMTP) Server box.
    Click "Next."
    In the Account Name box, type your Verizon Yahoo! Mail ID (your email address without the portion after the "@" symbol).
    In the Password box, type your Verizon Yahoo! Mail password.
    If you want Outlook Express to remember your password, check the "Remember password" box.
    Do not check the boxes labeled "Log on using Secure..."
    Click "Next."
    Click "Finish."
    Note: The Verizon Yahoo! Mail SMTP server now requires authentication. To turn this setting on:

    From the Tools menu, choose "Accounts."
    Select the "Mail" tab.
    Double-click the account labeled "incoming.yahoo.verizon.net."
    Select the "Servers" tab.
    Check the box next to "My Server Requires Authentication."
    Click "OK."
     
  3. GLYNNROY

    GLYNNROY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    553
    Still Confused

    Do I need to put my hotmail account in the incoming and outgoing and which do I use pop or other hers what i mean,,

    If some one could fill it it I am a bit thick]

    Name Glynn
    E mail (not sure if its use hotmail or aol or make one up for this acoount)
    In comig mail service not sure what to put
    outgoing not sure what to put
     

    Attached Files:

  4. golferbob

    golferbob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,896
    iam not sure what you your setting up ,a aol account or a hotmail account. use the information i sent before and put what you need in the boxes.
     
  5. GLYNNROY

    GLYNNROY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    553

    I was a bit worried as I dont have a yahoo acccount when you do it that way `"incoming.yahoo.verizon.net````does it set up a outlook account or do I have to havea yahoo account
     
  6. GLYNNROY

    GLYNNROY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    553
    This is what I put in and this is the reply i GOT.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Augie65

    Augie65

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052
    You need the information from your ISP as to what information you place into:
    Incoming mail server(POP3): ex: pop.earthlink.net
    Outgoing mail server(SMTP): ex: smtp.earthlink.net
    both incoming and outgoing information will be provided by your ISP
    Under User Information:
    Your Name: Glenn
    E-mail Address: type your email address that you set up with your provider.
    Logon Information:
    User Name: your email address
    Password: the password you set up
     
  8. GLYNNROY

    GLYNNROY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    553
    I give up it keeps coming up with the same message
     
  9. golferbob

    golferbob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,896
    you need to put your own isp in not verizon.
     
  10. EAFiedler

    EAFiedler Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    14,146
    Hi GLYNNROY

    It looks like you are using Outlook 2003, not Outlook Express, these are two different programs.

    If you are setting up a Hotmail account you will need to select the HTTP protocol, not the POP3 protocol.
    Is this a free Hotmail account or have you upgraded to the paid Hotmail account?

    This link shows how to configure Outlook to use a *Paid* Hotmail account.
    Use Outlook with MSN and MSN Hotmail
    Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on: Add your MSN or MSN Hotmail e-mail account
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/442540

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice