1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Setting up RAID Array

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jlabit, Jan 24, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jlabit

jlabit Thread Starter

I have a lot of experience building my own computers but no experience at all with RAID arrays. I have purchased a RAID PCI Card that should arrive at the house today. I already own 2 Seagate 80 gig hard drives and want to set them up in a RAID 0 configuration. I have Googled to try to find instructions for setting it up but really haven't found setup instructions. From what I have read, it looks like I will lose everything on my 2 hard drives and will have to reload OS and software again because I don't have a 3rd hard drive. For just a quick start, I plug in the PCI card, install both HD's, electrically connect the 2 HD's to the RAID card, and then reboot? Is there some type of software that needs to be loaded for the RAID on the reboot? You guys know of any place I can find instructions on how to do this? Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Jim

2. D0C_Hol1d@y

[email protected]