1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Setting up the Internet?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Register3D, Dec 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Register3D

    Register3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    I have here in my house a internet router zyxel p-660-hw series and now I have a little question, there is a telephone socket in my wall and now it says here in the specs of the box that it is a ADSL2+, now do I need to have a ADSL contact that i put into the telephone socket?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you need to be paying for an internet service provided on your telephone line
    what service so you have ?
     
  3. Register3D

    Register3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Well the company who gives us the internet is called Sonera it is a Finnish company, I have already one time been at one of their stores and asked for tips and such and I also took with me the router and they made some adjustments but I am still getting a serious problem. The problem seems to be that our router does not have a stable connection to the DSL..!
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    so we can assume you already have a DSL enabled telephone line and the router is supplied by the company who also supplies the broadband

    the zyxel search appears to be off until 31/12/2011

    do you know the version number of the router
    http://www.zyxel.com/web/support_do...0060420160946,420060420161739,420060816160116

    looking at this info
    http://www.zyxel.com/products_services/p_660hw_series.shtml

    its a wireless router - so what is unstable
    1) the wireless connected devices
    2) the wired connected devices
    3) Both
    4) is it just one PC
    would you post the following when its all working OK and then repeat ALL the tests when it disconnects

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    If you don't have a stable connection, call your ISP. That's a problem with their service, equipment, or the lines.
     
  6. Register3D

    Register3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    1) Wireless have never worked in our apartment. Unknown error!
    2) Wired working 100%
    3) ?
    4) When our router does not have an stable connection to the DSL, every pc cant get online and we get a message from our router saying no dsl connection.!

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Wolfgang>ipcofig /all > network.txt & network.txt
    'ipcofig' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Users\Wolfgang>ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    C:\Users\Wolfgang>Ping192.168.0.1
    'Ping192.168.0.1' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Users\Wolfgang>Ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\Wolfgang>Ping 192.168.0.1 > metwork.txt & network.txt

    C:\Users\Wolfgang>Ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\Wolfgang>Ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [173.194.65.106] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 173.194.65.106: bytes=32 time=38ms TTL=45
    Reply from 173.194.65.106: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=45
    Reply from 173.194.65.106: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=45
    Reply from 173.194.65.106: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=45

    Ping statistics for 173.194.65.106:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 37ms, Maximum = 40ms, Average = 38ms

    C:\Users\Wolfgang>Ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=121ms TTL=45
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=121ms TTL=45
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=120ms TTL=45
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=119ms TTL=45

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 119ms, Maximum = 121ms, Average = 120ms


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Wolfgang-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : BC-AE-C5-29-54-16
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c49a:bfc6:bf07:f726%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.36(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 09 December 2011 19:40:00
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 12 December 2011 19:39:59
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 247246533
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-D9-72-1B-BC-AE-C5-29-54-16
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 8.8.8.8
    8.8.4.4
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{2D80D86D-B381-495B-8EFE-B349891F4A8C}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Xirrus cant seem to find any adapters!! Though I´m sitting in the same room as the adapter..!

    The second link you gave me is exactly the router I have!!
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    its looking for a wireless adapter on the PC - NOT the router
    so if you do not have a PC with a wireless adapter - wireless is not going to work

    strange you have two default gateways listed !!!!!

    can you ping 182.168.1.1

    lets see the results when the connection is lost and the status of the lights on the router

    i need to try and understand the default gateway
    can we see an ipconfig /all - NOTE the spelling from another working PC
     
  8. Register3D

    Register3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Wolfgang>Ping 192.168.1.1

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    The thing is that I do not know when the next drop out will be, it happens at random times!

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Guest>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Zachas-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8121/AR8113/AR8114 PCI-E Ethern
    et Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-15-8B-31-44
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::39a3:7377:3f5c:83d2%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.34(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 9. joulukuuta 2011 19:40:05
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 12. joulukuuta 2011 19:40:04
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234889749
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-10-AA-42-BE-00-22-15-8B-31-44

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{4518E6F6-FD9A-442B-B7FA-19113AE90
    A7C}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    The information above is from my brothers computer!
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    ok - so what have you done to your PC - set up google open dns 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    lets see what happens when it fails next and can you do the ipconfig and all three ping tests (including the 192.168.1.1) on both PCs
     
  10. Register3D

    Register3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Was this a question?
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Yes, why have you got google open dns set - did you set this up ?
     
  12. Register3D

    Register3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    I dont think so but what is it? :D
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you post a scren shot of your settings
    goto
    control panel>
    network and sharing centre>
    manage network connections>
    right click on ethernet connection
    properties
    internet protocol version 4 (tcp/ipv4)
    properties
    whats listed there
    a screen shot
    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
     
  14. Register3D

    Register3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    There you go hope it helps a bit!!
     

    Attached Files:

  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    that makes sense - so we can leave the DNS settings 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 - as i would have suggested that anyway , although as they are set and you are losing intenet on that PC - its unlikely a DNS issue now
    anyway

    can you click on the "use the following IP address" goto the default gateway and delete the entry and then click back on the "obtain an ip address automatically" that should get rid of the 2nd default gateway entry

    post back another screen shot of that screen and also an ipconfig /all from your PC - just to make sure the 192,168.0.1 is now cleared
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1030473

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice