Setting Up VPN Server Messes Up File Sharing

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

evmeister

Hi Guys

I'm a newbie here at the forum but I am a long time user of IT and work in the IT industry.

I've been Googling frantically to find a solution for this but have found nothing.

Background
I have 3 machines which I am using to interact with each other as a part of my ventures in web development.
1) Main Machine - Running Windows XP Media Center Edition. I have a network drive mapped to the website directory on my Web Server so I can load the files and work with them direct without having to copy/cut.
2) Web Server - Running Windows XP Professional SP2 connected via Wireless. It is used to host my website and uses Windows file sharing to share the website directory. I administer this PC using VNC from my other two computers.
3) Laptop - Running Windows XP Professional SP2. This has a mapped network drive to the shared Web Site directory on the Web Server configured to use offline files, so I can work with the files whilst not connected to the network, then synchronise when I reconnect to the network.

All this has been working great with the offline files on my laptop and having the mapped network drives on both computers to work with the files on my website whether at home or elsewhere.

However, I am someone who isn't easily satisfied with leaving things as they are and I like to test the limits on what may be possible.

The Problem