1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Setting up Win98 machine on Novell Server

Discussion in 'Networking' started by smyoung, Jan 3, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. smyoung

smyoung Thread Starter

I've been asked to supply a small business with some new computers running windows98. There existing network uses a Novell Netware 4.11 Server with about 8 Win95 Machines. I have no experience with Novell, so please excuse my ignorance. I've done some searching, but haven't found anything that helps, so I thought I'd stop here before I go back to searching. If someone could supply a relevant link it would be greatly appreciated.

The server is running Netware 4.11 (Aug 96).
    I also saw Netware 4.x Console Monitor 4.34

What do I need to do to connect the Windows 98 machine to the server? Is it as simple as installing the protocals?

Do I have to do anything on the server? I'm replacing the existing computer that is already connected. Is there any software I need to load, or just the protocals?

Thanks for any help.

-Steve

2. angel

angel

You'll have to install a Netware Client. You can use Microsoft's client or Novell's. I would suggest Novell's. Go to <a href="http://download.novell.com/sdMain.jsp">Novell's</a> download section and grab the appropriate client. You'll need to unzip it and then run the install.
    You'll need to know the server information which you can grab from another Windows client that's already configured.

3. 0x29a

0x29a