1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

settings disappear

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by dstrand, Apr 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dstrand

    dstrand Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    88
    Have a 700mhz celeron, 128MB ram, new clean install of Win me. The driver for the sound card is an INtel 82801AA AC97 SigmaTel codec and It will install via windows update, but as soon as the computer is rebooted it loses its driver. It also returns to never dial a connection for the modem, when I keep putting it as always dial my default connection. So each time the computer is rebooted, you must change this setting also.
     
  2. scutch2222

    scutch2222

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    271
    im probobly way off ..... but would anyone think that the cmos battery have anything to do with that ....
     
  3. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    IRQ conflict?????


    What operating system?
     
  4. dstrand

    dstrand Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    88
    no irq prob(checked) and it is a new clean install of Windows ME. I think it must be downloading the driver from windows update and then it is not installing correctly, so that windows does not know where to look in the event of a reboot. Going to try udating the chipset drivers for it ( 4 in one miniport kinda thing) As for the slip of the modem settings-- no idea..
     
  5. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    To set the AutoConnect value in the registry key to 1, follow these steps:
    Click Start, and then click Run.
    In the Open box, type regedit, and then press ENTER.
    Locate and select the following registry key:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\RemoteAccess\Profile\<ConnectionName>

    In the right pane, double-click the AutoConnect value, and then reset the value from 0 to 1.



    Not sure if that will help or not.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/218098

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice