Settings of secondary monitor

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

vinny_the_hack

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
17
I have an external monitor attached to my laptop. The hardware controls have stopped working (on the external one), and I would like to dim this monitor a bit. Every web page I've located for help, shows two separate monitors to select from in Windows 10, however, in my setup, it shows only one monitor, with a "1|2" in it. Consequently, the settings below operate on my laptop monitor. How can I select the external monitor and change the brightness setting?
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
4,446
Oops, must have missed that part.

I rather doubt that this will on a laptop, but you might give it a try. It does state under Notes: "To change the brightness on an external monitor, use the buttons on it."
 

vinny_the_hack

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
17
This is the whole problem. By default, any settings you change will be applied to the primary (laptop screen) monitor. In all the examples I've seen, they can select which monitor to apply changes to. In my configuration, there isn't two separate icons to choose from--not sure why.upload_2018-12-13_16-4-55.png
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
4,446
What happens if you change the "Multiple displays:" setting from "Extend" to "Duplicate", or "Show desktop only on 2" etc?
 

vinny_the_hack

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
17
I've been using them as "duplicate" displays, and am unable to select either monitor in the settings. When I change the setting to "extend" or "show only on 2', I can then select either monitor, but then if I select monitor 2, the brightness slider becomes disabled (it won't move).
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
4,446
Yep, same thing happens here. The only way to control the brightness is with my external monitors buttons.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top