1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Setup did not find hard disk driver.....

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Oten, Sep 8, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Oten

    Oten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Hello,

    Just installed XP Pro last week.... no problems (y). Last night, my computer will not work (n) . I try to Repair from the CD, but the I get the same error over and over. I get the same error even if I try to run set from scratch. What to do?? :confused:
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Um, the error message might help us help you ;)
     
  3. Oten

    Oten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    First thing I get when I turn the computer on is

    Boot Device

    ( ) Hard Drive
    ( ) CD-ROM/DVD
    ( ) Diskette A
    ( ) Internal LAN

    I select the cd-rom option with the windows xp professional cd. The computer attempts to boot from the cd (I am guessing) as the screen turns blue with Windows Setup at the top (a small gray bar at the bottom displaying messages about what is being loaded). The next menu gives me the options of:

    "welcome to setup.

    this portion of the setup program prepares microsoft(r)

    . to set up windows xp now, press enter
    . to repair a window xp installation using recovery console, press r.
    . to quit setup without installing windows xp, press f3."

    All options lead to the following message:

    "setup did not find any hard disk drives installed in your computer.

    make sure any hard disk drives are powered on and properly connected to your computer, and that any disk-related hardware configuration is correct. this may involve running a manufacturer-supplied diagnostic or setup program.

    setup cannot continue. to quit setup, press f3."

    the only manufacturer diagnostics that i can find are too large to put on a floppy and i obviously can download to the laptop that is not working. what to do??
     
  4. heavybob

    heavybob

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    750
    Is this a new hard drive - sounds like it is no good. Sorry
     
  5. Oten

    Oten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    I was affraid of that. Is there anything I can try to resolve the issue before giving up completely?
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Access your bios setup to see if the drive appears there.
     
  7. Oten

    Oten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    It does appear to be there in bios setup, at leat it's listed.
     
  8. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Save changes coming out, and set your cdrom to the first boot device, while you're at it.


    Also, does it identify it correctly there? Size wise?
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/397421

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice