1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Setup is starting services

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by ben1191, Nov 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ben1191

    ben1191 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Hi.Ill give you the full story so as to get the best response possible.

    A couple of weeks ago my screen would freeze after it was left for around an hour,i would have absoloutly no control of anything i couldnt CTRL+ALT & DEL,the entire screen froze,the only thing i could do was hold the power button down untill it turned off so i could restart.I changed all the power options as well as screen saver options etc but nothing fixed it,i did scans with malware bytez and microsoft security essentials but nothing was found and it stayed the same.Lastnight i whent on my pc and it froze withing 5 mins,i would restart and it did the same thing,so i booted it in safe mode and it was fine,i did msconfig and unchecked everything on startup and all the services minus microsoft ones,i then booted it in normal mode and it worked and there was no crashing,i played it for the rest of the night fine.

    Thismorning however i booted it up and its crashed again so i did the packard bell restore in which you boot the pc on a recovery disc 1 (3 discs in total).Its been going fine but now its on "Setup is starting services" and its been around half hour,it hasnt froze as the little white bar under the text is still doing its effects.

    Is this length of time normal?

    Why does it keep crashing?

    P.S i dont think its overheating,the pc isnt even a year old and i dont run anything that takes a high demand of ram gpu or processing?
     
  2. ben1191

    ben1191 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Ok so it whent on for over 2 hours,i restarted it and tried to go "start windows normally" to see what happend but it whent str8 to the services message so i held the power button and ive booted it from the recovery disc 1 again -.-...... ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

    does the same when i try to boot it in safe mode.So now i cant get my pc on full stop
    :'(
     
  3. CameronW

    CameronW

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    There is a known issue after installing some updates that windows takes forever to load. I've seen this alot on Server 2008r2 hardware.

    Honestly I would try to just wait for a while (couple of hours). Failing that try and boot into safe mode and see if that works.

    Try unplugging it from the network as well when you're starting the service, i've seen errors pertaining to IPv6 causing an issue like this.
     
  4. ben1191

    ben1191 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    safe mode doesnt work,goes to the same screen.i disabled usb 2.0 in bios as i read that causes problems also.Its been going a hour or 2 now,ill leave it overnight to see what happens.
     
  5. ben1191

    ben1191 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Been on for 5 hours now and nothings changed,really need an answer from some1 who can help me please.
     
  6. huggie54

    huggie54

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,631
    still under warrantry,think i would return it,did you make a windows repair disc and tried startup repair,how much ram/sticks have you,if two remove one then startup-if no change, swap sticks try again
     
  7. ben1191

    ben1191 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    refurbished pc from pc world.can i take it back though?will they not say its my fault?been on for 15 hours and its still stuck on same screen lol.ill take the 1GB stick out and ill also take the graphics card out and try 1 last time,also contact packard bell and ask them for advice seeing as its their software that isnt doing the boot correctly....
     
  8. ben1191

    ben1191 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    So has no1 got an answer?
     
  9. huggie54

    huggie54

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,631
    hiya,did it not make any difference swapping the ram
     
  10. ben1191

    ben1191 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    No,i swapped the rams around,i took the graphics card out and the wireless card etc.It gets stuck at the same spot every time.
     
  11. Firebreather

    Firebreather

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    5,068
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025407