Several java virtual machines running in the same process caused an error

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Slami

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 18, 2007
Messages
28
Hi everyone, I keep getting the above error whenever I want to use a Java application such as the online secunia software inspector or a java based chat room. I checked in the Add/Remove Program part of the Control Panel and found the following relating to Java:

Java(TM) 6 Update 5
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment 6 Update 1

Does the error I am seeing equate to there being two entries when there should be one?

All help and advice appreciated. Oh and jokes will help to cheer me up :)
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2002
Messages
5,939
There are a lot of 'hits' if you search your error message on Google, many of which seem to suggest that IE addons could be involved (although I did see at least one which seemed to indicate that a Firefox user had the problem as well). Run the search yourself and see if you find anything helpful.

Although I don't know for certain, I doubt very much that your out of date versions of Java have anything to do with it. However, they could pose security problems, so you should uninstall them and install the latest version, 1.6.0_6 ; http://www.java.com/en/download/manual.jsp
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2002
Messages
5,939
I've just been looking again at my Google search and found an interesting thread mentioning your error message and suggesting that it may be due to insufficient memory being allocated to Java.

This is a multiple issue thread so you will have to scroll down the page to item 4 and then to item 3 (which tells you how to increase the memory allocated to Java; http://www.genomatix.de/online_help/help/techfaq.html#memory

I use the Secunia online inspector and have never had your problem, so I suppose it might be connected with the out of date versions using some of the allocated 20 MB of memory?. It might be interesting to see what happens if you get rid of the old versions and install 1.6.0_6 before you change the memory settings (assuming you were inclined to try it!).

PS. I can never think of jokes when they would be most useful. Having said that, Windows in general and IE in particular are themselves a bit of a joke - three more Critical and three Important updates due next Tuesday! ;http://www.microsoft.com/technet/security/bulletin/ms08-Jun.mspx
 

Slami

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 18, 2007
Messages
28
Hi TOGG, thanks for taking the time to look at my problem. I had set my Java parms to -Xmx256M but after reading the information in the link you supplied I changed it to -Xmx200M after I downloaded and installed the latest Java version i.e.:

Java(TM) 6 Update 6

I tried running the verify installation:

http://www.java.com/en/download/installed.jsp

but got the error message:

The Java Runtime Environment cannot be loaded
followed by:
Several java virtual machines running in the same process caused an error

The Sun site does give some help on testing the JVM:

Enable the JRE through your Web browser
Enable the JRE through the "Java Plug-in Control Panel"
Clearing your Web Browser Cache

The instructions explain what to do but it s not what I see, for example:

Enable the JRE through your Web browser
Internet Explorer 4.x and Up

Click "Tools" --> "Internet Options"
Select the Advanced Tab, and scroll down to "Java (Sun)"
Check the box next to the "Use Java 2" version
Next, select the Security Tab, and select the "Custom Level" button
Scroll down to "Scripting of Java applets"
Make sure the "Enable" radio button is checked.
Click OK to save your preference.


I don't have Check the box next to the "Use Java 2" version
All I can see is Use JRE V1.6.0_06 for <applet> (requires restart) which is checked


Enable the JRE through the "Java Plug-in Control Panel"
To see whether your browser is configured to use the Java Runtime Environment (JRE) or not, first open the Windows Control Panel. From the Start menu button, select Settings, then Control Panel to open the Control Panel. You should see the Java Coffee Cup logo icon in the Control Panel.

Double click the icon to open the "Java Control Panel"
In the "Java Control Panel", select the Browser Tab
Make sure the box next to Internet Explorer, Netscape, or Mozilla is checked
If it is not checked, click the checkbox to enable the JRE for your Web browser
Click the Apply button.

I do not see the Browser Tab

Am I missing something blatantly obvious?
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2002
Messages
5,939
I just opened IE 7 (something I rarely do), and I don't have the things you refer to either. It is quite possible that the instructions are out of date because the Sun site is like that!

If you click on 'version information on Java Control Panel' when you have the JCP open, what do you see, mine is '1.6.0_6 - b02'? I have been using Sun Java for some time and have updated it regularly without ever having to 'enable' it in Opera or Firefox. Then again, I think Opera has a 'built in' version of Sun that does everything automatically.

What happens if you use this java tester page (click on the box at the top); http://www.javatester.org/ (You could also try the 'Java Enabled' tab on the left hand side of the page).
 

Slami

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 18, 2007
Messages
28
Hi TOGG, I tried the Java tester page and I get the following error:

The Java Runtime Environment cannot be loaded

I've checked the Java version and it is the same as yours i.e. 1.6.0_6 - b02

Truly confused on why I get this error. I will try and installing and using Opera or Firefox to check if this is an IE7 issue with Java or a Java issue
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2002
Messages
5,939
Well I have to admit I'm baffled (not that hard to do!) Did you do your own Google search on the error message?
 
Joined
May 23, 2007
Messages
730
1. If you had it have you uninstalled the MicroSoft Java Virtual Machine ?
Manual instructions here on how to check for it and uninstall it.
http://www.java.com/en/download/help/uninstall_msvm.xml
http://www.helpwithwindows.com/WindowsXP/howto-21.html

Automated tool available at MajorGeeks
http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4158.html


Once you have removed MSJVM launch IE and go to tools / internet options / advanced
/Browsing

Make sure Enable Third-Party Browser extensions is checked.
If it is not check it and restart our computer

Download and install the latest Java Runtime Environment at Sun
http://www.java.com/en/download/index.jsp

Go back and at tools / internet options / advanced / Java(Sun) make sure the Use JRE1.6.0_06 is checked.

You may also want to try with your popup blocker (tools /popup blocker / turn off popup blocker) disabled. Often it is the cause of java related problems.

Additionally Sun is investigating this error and lists several things to try
http://java.com/en/download/help/6000060700.xml
 

Slami

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 18, 2007
Messages
28
Hi oshwyn5, I do not have MSJVM installed and I have gone through Sun's recommendations as detailed in:

http://java.com/en/download/help/6000060700.xml

but to no avail and still have the same issue. I have googled my issue and others have got similar issues but there has not been a resolution found on any forums I have visited. So in a nutshell exasperated :) Damn not a good feeling
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top