SEX! now that I have your attention...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Mr.Bungle

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2004
Messages
139
Alright I have asked this many times without any response and I was hoping thats someone can help. I cannot burn cd's. I use Nero and Alcohol 120%, but it freezes every time I try and burn. I used to burn cd's all the time, but it has been a few months. I have tried everything I could think of. I updated every possible driver and my bios, I even reformatted. No luck.

SYMPTOMS
1. Drive reads cd's fine
2. When I try to burn a CD sometimes it sounds like the drive is spinning up and sometimes it doesnt
3. Drive spins up to .3kbps for about 2 seconds and goes to 0 when burning
4. Occasionally a cd will be successful (1 out of 30)

So I would really appreciate it if someone can help. It is seriously driving me insame. Thanks in advance :)
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2004
Messages
35
I have the same problem. The problem isn't with your hardware (er, per se)or software but probably with the cd themselves, that is if you have a cheapo cd drive it's probably sensitive to what cd's you can burn, mine's can burn the new 54Xs very rarely and only maxell cds at that. If the problem happend after you bought a new batch of cds it's probably it. It's not the software.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2004
Messages
391
I also have that problem BUT mine will burn....until 98%...at 98% it stops and wont go on and close ive tried EVERYTHING POSSIBLE..tell me what i should do(my post is on page 2)

Thanks
 

Mr.Bungle

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2004
Messages
139
i think its probably the cd's. I got these cheap staples brand cd's. and wat are the IRQ's and how do I change them?
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2003
Messages
149
I have the same problem as Hillian. It has only developed recently, and only in Nero 6 (burns fine in Alcohol 120%).

The IRQ of each device should be listed in properties under device manager. The only way I know, unfortunately, of checking that there are not IRQ conflicts is by individually looking at each device and configuring appropiately.

[edit] Info about IRQ Conflicts is located in the Hardware Resources category in System Information.

quote from windows xp help: "In general, shared resources are not problematic, but investigating potential conflicts can help resolve issues. If you are having a problem with a device, check Conflicts/Sharing to verify that there are no sharing conflicts. Locate the device in the Device column in the details pane, and then verify which resource the device uses in the Resource column. Devices that share the same resource have duplicate entries in the Resource column. For example, you may have two adapters that share the same IRQ channel, such as IRQ 5. If the problem device shares a resource with another device, there may be a conflict. You can use Device Manager to troubleshoot the problem. For more information about Device Manager, see Device Manager."
 

Mr.Bungle

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2004
Messages
139
my IRQ's are fine. Btw here are the cd's that I am using. Are these really cheap? I'm not sure cuz my dad bought 'em for me :p. I'm gonna try and pick some better cd's up today and try them. So I'll keep everyone updated. Till next time ;)
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Messages
81
I have had problems with memorex music cdr's but now I buy durabrand for walmart they are cheap but seam to work very well on a khypermeadia 48x24x48
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2001
Messages
1,742
We've used Staples, Office Depot and Memorex for years with no problems in cd/dvd player/recorders. I've seen a lot of problems with Alcohol in various forums........I think there is a website just for that:

http://forum.alcohol-soft.com/

many problems like yours with different solutions...........worth checking or posting there for a solution.
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2002
Messages
464
I may get a range of opinions posted back on this, but, I've always installed my cd/cdrw/dvd's on a seperate cable then what the hard drive is connected to. Is yours on the same cable? I've never run into burning problems when they are on the seperate cable, but do run into problems such as yours when they share a cable. Worth a try?
 

Mr.Bungle

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2004
Messages
139
Ash_11 said:
I may get a range of opinions posted back on this, but, I've always installed my cd/cdrw/dvd's on a seperate cable then what the hard drive is connected to. Is yours on the same cable? I've never run into burning problems when they are on the seperate cable, but do run into problems such as yours when they share a cable. Worth a try?
ya, i've tried both ways. Same result. I'm gonna go get some new media, but if that doesnt work, i'm gonna have my tech support guy come over and he's gonna put a dvd burner in it and see if that works.
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2001
Messages
1,742
Normal setup:

Primary Master: Hard Drive (C)
Primary Slave: CD/DVD Player

Secondary Master: CD/DVD Burner
Secondary Slave: Hadr Drive (F)

Make sure DMA is enabled on optical drives. If running SATA there may be software compatibility problems.
 

Mr.Bungle

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2004
Messages
139
Alright i decided i would try a simulation burn with alcohol. That wasnt even successful. it got to .1% and then just stopped, but i was able to cancel it and get the error messages for it. I took screenies of the errors and the performance graphs.

Does that help at all. To me it looks like my drive is just bad i.e. LBA write error. Any ideas?
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2002
Messages
464
I may be wrong here, but it looks like you are set to record an image file and not a cd. Make sure that the recording device is actually set to your burner. Also, why are you creating an image file first? Why not just burn the files directly to the cd?
 

Mr.Bungle

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2004
Messages
139
I am trying to record an image file already saved onto my computer. I get the same results trying to burn any other type of cd as well. and i am not recording directly from the cd because i dont have the original cd any longer. The ARTEC WSM-52x drive is my burner.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top