SFC - anything similar in ME?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Yankee Rose

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 1999
Messages
1,861
Hi guys:

I love the System File Checker available in Windows 98, and have a system running ME that has many problems. I know that SFC does not work in ME - is there anything in ME that acts as a similar tool and checks system files? I know how to extract files using System Information/System Configuration Utility, but would like to be able to verify integrity of all the ME files.

Thanks for any help! :)
 

Yankee Rose

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 1999
Messages
1,861
Thanks for the links, Tony. Sheds a bit of light.

I have another question: Can you install ME over top of ME (as you can with 98)? And if so - can you use the ME upgrade or do you have to use the full version?

Thanks again. :)
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
I'm not running Millennium myself, but I believe you can install ME on top of itself, just like you can Win 98.


But I think you need to hear the opinion of someone who's more familiar with ME than I am.

Cheers,
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Jody
A bit more about WinME and SFP. Tony is correct in stating the System File Protect function monitors and replaces any System Files under its control. Believe it or not it does this by using a modified version of SFC. If you do a search for SFC you will find SFC.dll which is used by the SFP system for identifying items to change back too originals. The items listed in Sfpdb.sfp can be opened with notepad will show you all that are protected.
To unprotect an item for whatever reason you have requires removal from the filelist.xml
A while back Mosaic and I experimented with Browsei.dll and made changes to the list so to prevent SFP from Replacing it.
http://www.geocities.com/backgammon1_2000/ietoolbar/introduction.html

Also WinME can be installed over the top the same as other OS's.

Hope that helps.

Dave
 

Yankee Rose

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 1999
Messages
1,861
Thanks Dave! I appreciate that information!

Do you know if I can use the upgrade ME CD to install overtop a full version? It's a Dell preloaded w/ME. All I have here is the upgrade version of ME.

Thanks! :)
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Jody
That I cannot tell you since I have never used the upgrade WinME for an overinstall only full versions. Didn't the Dell come with any WinME CD's?

Dave
 

Yankee Rose

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 1999
Messages
1,861
Well - I was able to extract a few files that were corrupt and my problems seemed to be solved. :) I didn't try installing over top with the upgrade - will save that for a last resort.

BTW .... yes, the Dell came with the CD but it is not accessible at the moment.

Thanks for all your help! If I ever discover a reinstall over a full works with an upgrade I'll let you know! :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top