Solved Sfc /scannow will not run

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DR.M

Malware Specialist
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
2,695
YES!!!!!!!!!!!!



YOU DID IT!!!!!!!!!!!!


And now I can express opinion about your comments here:


I have checked for compatible memory roughly £25 for 4 GB and £50 for eight, although I will have to check for slots - may mean buying 8 to get an extra 4 GB.
Might be better to get my grandson to find a refurbished system box with a modern motherboard and much faster processor, although the saving in time over the next three years or so would be a lot less than the time spent in doing a changeover. Would 4GB make much difference? Maybe get my grandson to do a wipe and clean re-install of Windows once visits are allowed - drivers for the video card could be a problem for me.

After what we did with this computer, NO, I don't recommend you to wipe and re-install Windows, except if it is something you want so much to do (or something happens unexpectedly with this computer)! The same comment about buying a new or a refurbished machine.

If you need more RAM, you can buy 4GB and add it to the 8GB you have now. It would be 12GB, more than perfect for you. Only make sure that there is an empty slot for the additional RAM. The Crucial utility should tell you.

Any other question/concern?
 
Last edited:

mike2111

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2019
Messages
131
I have checked (Belarc Advisor) - there are just two slots and each has 4GB RAM, so it would mean buying 8GB to increase from 8 to 12 - not worth it. Since bought over 10 years ago the computer has had an SSD fitted, RAM increaed from 4 to 8, a quad processor in place of the two core - the only upgrade the motherboard will stand, and a 2GB video card. All of these made a lot of difference. I certainly do not want all the trouble of a new computer or a wipe/reinstall if it can be helped; processing in Affinity would be a bit faster but I can live with that. All that you have done is very much appreciated, you have been patience personified and I have learnt a lot. My first computer used the CPM operating system and audio cassettes for programs and data, it was wonderful when I bought a 180K floppy drive, but Windows 3.1 - well!
 

mike2111

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2019
Messages
131
I have checked (Belarc Advisor) - there are just two slots and each has 4GB RAM, so it would mean buying 8GB to increase from 8 to 12 - not worth it. Since bought over 10 years ago the computer has had an SSD fitted, RAM increaed from 4 to 8, a quad processor in place of the two core - the only upgrade the motherboard will stand, and a 2GB video card. All of these made a lot of difference. I certainly do not want all the trouble of a new computer or a wipe/reinstall if it can be helped; processing in Affinity would be a bit faster but I can live with that. All that you have done is very much appreciated, you have been patience personified and I have learnt a lot. My first computer used the CPM operating system and audio cassettes for programs and data, it was wonderful when I bought a 180K floppy drive, but Windows 3.1 - well!
 

DR.M

Malware Specialist
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
2,695
You are most welcome, Mike.

Have in mind that my computer is 10 years old too. It had 6GB (4GB + 2GB) and I made it 12GB (4GB + 8GB). If I were you, I would do it. But it is up to you.

I didn't ask you: Is there another computer/device you are using Edge on it? If yes, you may think of turning the sync option ON on it, so it can be synced with the clean computer (SYNC OFF on this computer).

My first computer used the CPM operating system and audio cassettes for programs and data, it was wonderful when I bought a 180K floppy drive, but Windows 3.1 - well!
Wow! Floppy drives! I have an idea of them! :ROFLMAO:

Now... we have something yet to do.

The following tool will remove the tools we used as well as reset system restore points:

Download KpRm by kernel-panik and save it to your desktop.
  • Right-click kprm_(version).exe and select Run as Administrator.
  • Read and accept the disclaimer.
  • When the tool opens, ensure all boxes under Actions are checked.
  • Under Delete Quarantines select Delete Now, then click Run.
  • Once complete, click OK.
  • A log will open in Notepad titled kprm-(date).txt.
  • Please copy and paste its contents in your next reply.
 
Last edited:

mike2111

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2019
Messages
131
All went as you indicated. My introduction to computers was in 1951 as a graduate trainee with the British Electricity Authority, with a colleague running a very crude "computer" determining load flows in the national electricity system and determining what would happen if an inter-connector tripped. Later, colleagues used Commodore PETs that they programmed themselves to work out protection relay settings. I had email on my desk in the 80s - a private national network, before I retired over 30 years ago. How things have changed.


# Run at 17/03/2021 16:33:23
# KpRm (Kernel-panik) version 2.9
# Website https://kernel-panik.me/tool/kprm/
# Run by Mike from C:\Users\Mike\Downloads
# Computer Name: MIKE-PC
# OS: Windows 10 X64 (19042)
# Number of passes: 1

- Checked options -

~ Registry Backup
~ Delete Tools
~ Restore System Settings
~ UAC Restore
~ Delete Restore Points
~ Create Restore Point
~ Delete Quarantines

- Create Registry Backup -

~ [OK] Hive C:\WINDOWS\System32\config\SOFTWARE backed up
~ [OK] Hive C:\Users\Mike\NTUSER.dat backed up

[OK] Registry Backup: C:\KPRM\backup\2021-03-17-16-33-22

- Delete Tools -


## AdwCleaner
[OK] C:\Users\Mike\Desktop\Program Quick launch\AdwCleaner.exe deleted
[OK] C:\Users\Mike\Desktop\Program Quick launch\adwcleaner_7.0.0.0.exe deleted
[OK] C:\AdwCleaner deleted

## ESET Online Scanner
[OK] C:\Users\Mike\Desktop\Program Quick launch\ESET Online Scanner.lnk deleted
[OK] C:\Users\Mike\Desktop\Program Quick launch\esetonlinescanner.exe deleted

## FRST
[OK] C:\FRST deleted

## FSS
[OK] C:\Users\Mike\Downloads\FSS (1).exe deleted
[OK] C:\Users\Mike\Downloads\FSS.exe deleted

- Restore System Settings -

[OK] Reset WinSock
[OK] FLUSHDNS
[OK] Hide Hidden file.
[OK] Show Extensions for known file types
[OK] Hide protected operating system files

- Restore UAC -

[OK] Set EnableLUA with default (1) value
[OK] Set ConsentPromptBehaviorAdmin with default (5) value
[OK] Set ConsentPromptBehaviorUser with default (3) value
[OK] Set EnableInstallerDetection with default (0) value
[OK] Set EnableSecureUIAPaths with default (1) value
[OK] Set EnableUIADesktopToggle with default (0) value
[OK] Set EnableVirtualization with default (1) value
[OK] Set FilterAdministratorToken with default (0) value
[OK] Set PromptOnSecureDesktop with default (1) value
[OK] Set ValidateAdminCodeSignatures with default (0) value

- Clear Restore Points -

No system recovery points were found

- Create Restore Point -

[OK] System Restore Point created

- Display System Restore Point -

~ RP named KpRm created at 03/17/2021 16:34:55

-- KPRM finished in 151.06s --
 

DR.M

Malware Specialist
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
2,695
And you are still there, exploring and learning things!

BRAVO, Mike!

I wish you all the best!



Now your computer is clean, here are some final tips about your computer's security from now on:

Some of the following, are from Klein's (2005) article, So how did I get infected in the first place. Since then, the article has been reproduced or linked to in dozens of locations. As a result, many malware experts have continued updating it, to include current operating systems and software program information. My source is Security Garden, and I marked for you the following:

1. Keep your Windows updated!
It is important always to keep current with the latest security fixes from Microsoft. This can patch many of the security holes through which attackers can infect your computer.

2. Update 3rd Party Software Programs
Third Party software programs have long been targets for malware creators. It has been stated that "Adobe’s Reader and Flash and all versions of Java are together responsible for a total of 66 percent of the vulnerabilities in Windows systems exploited by malware.'' It's important to keep everything updated.

3. Update the browsers you use
Many malware infections install themselves by exploiting security holes in the Internet browser that you use. So... Keep them updated.

4. Be careful about what you download and what you open!
  • Many "freeware" programs come with an enormous amount of bundled spyware that will slow down your system, spawn pop-up advertisements, or just plain crash your browser or even Windows itself. Watch for pre-checked options such as toolbars that are not essential to the operation of the installed software.
  • Peer-to-peer (P2P) programs like Kazaa, BearShare, Imesh, Warez P2P, and others, allow the creation of a network enabling people to connect with other users and upload or download material in a fast efficient manner. BUT even if the P2P software you are using is "clean", a large percentage of the files served on the P2P network are likely to be infected.
  • Cracked or pirated programs are not only illegal, but also can make your computer a malware target. Have this in mind.
  • Do not open any files without being certain of what they are!
5. Avoid questionable web sites!
Visit web sites that are trustworthy and reputable. Many disreputable sites will attempt to install malware on your system through "drive-by" exploits just by visiting the site in your browser. Lyrics sites, free software sites (especially ones that target young children), cracked software sites, and pornography sites are some of the worst offenders. Also, never give out personal information of any sort online or click "OK" to a pop-up unless it is signed by a reputable company and you know what it is.

6. Registry cleaners/driver boosters/system optimizers

I do not recommend registry cleaners, system optimizers, driver boosters and the like. It is your computer and certainly your choice. However, please consider that modifying registry keys incorrectly can cause Windows instability, or make Windows unbootable. With registry cleaner and system optimization software programs, the potential is ever present to cause more problems than they claim to fix. Do note, however, that Microsoft does not support the use of registry cleaners. See Microsoft support policy for the use of registry cleaning utilities.

7. PC means personal computer!
Don't give access to your computer to friends or family who appear to be clueless about what they are doing.

8. Back-up your work!
Make back-ups of your personal files frequently. You never know when you'll have to reformat and start from scratch. You can always reformat and reinstall programs, but you cannot replace your data if you haven't made backups.

9. Must-Have Software
An anti-virus and an anti-spyware program is a necessity for the security of your computer. Be sure that you keep them updated, and that real time protection is enabled.


If you have any questions or concerns please don't hesitate to ask!

I'm glad I was able to help you.
 

mike2111

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2019
Messages
131
I will copy and keep for reference all that you have just posted.

Thanks again

Mike
 

mike2111

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2019
Messages
131
I have a problem in that my download speed using Ockla is around normal at 37Mbps using Edge but only 32 Mbps using Chrome; speed on my tablet using wi-fi is 33Mbps. I have removed and re-installed chrome but no change. My ISP reports a download of 38. I have now set Edge as default to get the higher speed but what is going on - previously readings were the same in both browsers.
 

mike2111

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2019
Messages
131
I pay £21 per month for up to 38Mbps with TalkTalk, with a guaranteed minimum of 34. I always got about 37 with chrome, which I still get with Edge, but Chrome is now nearly 20% down and below the minimum. I assume that if I downloaded a program in Chrome it would now take longer than if I did it in Edge - that is why I have now made Edge the default browser.
 

DR.M

Malware Specialist
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
2,695
Perhaps it will get fix. But if you have been said about a minimum of 34, then call them. For sure, don't expect to have 38Mbps with any browser.
 

mike2111

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2019
Messages
131
Thanks - I now have 37.29 with Edge and Chrome has gone up to 34.6, both measured with the Ookla app
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top