1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Shared files in xp pro

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by trout, Nov 29, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. trout

    trout Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Hi,

    Hope someone can help or I may have to give my 10 year old admin rights... tho' he may do a better job than me!

    He's connecting to http://www.cartoonnetwork.com and busy swapping characters in their 'Orbit Zone'... or was until I swapped Win2k out for XP Pro.

    The site has u/loaded a bunch of cookies and one .bin file to a folder called communities.com in c:\Program Files which IE can't access as he only has a Limited Account. This then stops him from contacting other users.

    Can't set up folder sharing as the computer's not attached to a network and there's no domain name, and if I move the offending folder to 'Shared Files' it's in the wrong place... ho hum.

    Problem now is that he's discovered it'll work if he has Admin Rights.... help!!

    Thanks for any suggestions,

    Trout
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,984
    Hiya and welcome

    May not have an anwser, but I like going through some of the old posts from about a month ago.

    Now, when you said this:

    What is different to Win2000 with XP Pro? Is this communities.com never there with 2000? This looks like it may be a microsoft communities page:

    http://communities2.microsoft.com/home/default.aspx

    Or, it may be someone else, like Yahoo.

    The bin file thats in there: whats the full name of it?

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. trout

    trout Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Hi Eddie,

    Thanks for both the welcome and the reply.

    The .bin file is called 'partsfile.bin' and seems to do nothing more than point to 6 dlls contained in a folder called 'CartoonOrbit' which is also in 'communities.com'.

    Apologies for any confusion, they are dlls rather than cookies... it must have been later than I thought when I was looking at them... though as the problem seems to be access to the.bin file I guess that part doesn't matter too much!

    I'm not sure what 2000 does with these files as I don't have access to a machine with it loaded any more. The part that really niggles is that I can log in to my son's account and open all the files in 'communities.com' for editing in 'Notepad' - it seems to be just IE that can't access them.

    Regards,

    Colin... whoops... trout...

    did I really choose that name??!
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,984
    Hiya

    Do you have the home version or the Pro version? The home version looks like you have an administartor and users (excuse the limited knowledge, I have just installed 2000 and never really used XP).
    Anyway, Here is something about the home eddition and Security:

    http://www.wown.com/j_helmig/wxphusrm.htm

    The Pro version Can have different users, etc:

    http://www.wown.com/j_helmig/wxppusrm.htm

    Now, when you say that IE cannot access it, it looks like its wanting to start an new connection with the Dial Up Properties. Do you have any proxies set up with your IE?

    eddie
     
  5. trout

    trout Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Hi Eddie,

    Have the Pro version and was just working my way through wown.com's page on security... now I remember why I stuck to backbone networking!

    Seems that I have it running in much the same way as XP Home as far as file sharing goes, which as far as I can make out means that file sharing is enabled by default with just the various user settings/documents remaining private.... probably an over-simplification but about the best I can do at the moment!

    My lad can access and login to the CartoonNetwork with no problems, but needs to open a screen which has a chat room type window in it to interact with other users on the site. It's the chat room type window which displays a message stating 'unable to access c:\program files\communities.com\partsfile.bin'.

    There's no attempt made to open a second connection by IE and no proxy in use. Net connection is via ADSL and though there's a firewall in use I can't see this as the problem as the settings are global and would stop my account from accessing the site if incorrect...

    Cheers!
     
  6. deuce

    deuce

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    Hiya Eddie and welcome to TSG trout. So does this problem work in the admin profile? How do you have your kids profile setup? I haven't actually used Xp... but I have read a lot about it and learned from people here and kinda know the differences between Xp and 2k, 98se and Me. However I don't have Xp sitting in front of me or to the left of me so I may need to ask you a few things reguarding stuff with Xp. In Xp is there a 'preset' "childrens profile"? I mean with settings optimized for children and parent piece of mind kinda like a firewall? It sounds like there is a setting in your kids profile not allowing him to access this. Please give me specifics on his profile and what kind of settings and limitations you put in... if any.
     
  7. trout

    trout Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Hi deuce and thanks...

    Works fine with the admin profile...

    There are two levels of user profile with XP Pro.. the 'Standard Account', only available in a domain environment - which I don't have here yet - and the 'Limited Acounts' that everyone else on the machine use. These limit users to changing their account password/picture and desktop settings - stop all my nicely honed program settings being altered a dozen times a day!

    There's no preset children's profile and all programs, including IE, run with the same settings that I use on the admin account.

    The built-in MS Firewall has been disabled since day one - but leaks so much it probably wouldn't make any difference!
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60106

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice