1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Sharing A Printer On A Network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Droops9, Jul 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Droops9

    Droops9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Hey guys.
    my stedad got a new job, so he bought the family a laptop, bought me one for graduating, and he also bought a HP photosmart all-in-one printer. So we have wireless setup (thanks to these forums), and he told me he wants me to setup the printer so we can share it, he said "i want to be able to sit in the other room, and send something to print" so the printer is setup to my room, and connected to my desktop, the printer has an ethernet port, and I connected it to the router, and i ran the setup wizard on my desktop, and the family laptop, and i attempted to print something without connecting the USB cord, but nothing happened (and yes the printer was on ;)), so im thinking that we probably need to buy a special piece of equipment to share this printer. so what do i need to do or buy so we can share this printer (on wireless).

    Thanks.
     
  2. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Ok:First.Make and model of router please. and Operating systems and level on both pc's
    Now,just to level set,do I understand your question.
    You have a desktop connected to a wireless router connected to the broadband modem(is this cable or dsl?).The printer is connected to the desktop and the laptop has a wireless connection to your home network.You want to print wirelessly from the laptop to the desktop attached printer.
    Let us know if that is essentially your setup.
     
  3. pjbfsc

    pjbfsc

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    ok two options
    1. if its connected to your machine through a USB connection and you can print to it then just share it and you sould then be able to see it on the other machine. (only have the usb connection connected

    2.
    if you both want to share it a another location and or even if your machine is turned off then you would need to buy a printer sharer, as a example here is a link to look at one
    http://cgi.ebay.com.au/2-PCs-Share-...yZ130768QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
     
  4. Droops9

    Droops9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    oh srry about the essentials, its a Linksys Wireless-B 2.4 GHz (802.11b) it has wireless and wired (if thats the proper term) my desktop is connected by wire, and the 2 laptops are wireless. My desktop is operating Windows XP Pro, and the 2 laptops are running Windows Vista Home Premium. Yes, the laptops are connected to our home network, and the printer is connected to my desktop by USB, and yes, want to print wirelessly.
     
  5. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Ok.On the desktop side,control panel/printers right click on the printer/properties and select share this printer and define a share name(ie desktopprinter)
    Also go to control panel/system take note of full computer name and workgroup name,probably MSHOME.
    The workgroup name should be the same on all pcs.
    Disable all firewalls on all machines tempoarily
    Now on the laptop side,I will tell you how I did it on an XP system since I do not have Vista,but someonelse here will.
    start/run and type in \\computername where computer name is the name of the desktop.A window should open which shows the newly shared printer name Double click and you will be prompted to create a connection to that printer.
    Let us know how you are doing.
     
  6. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Also for the purpose of this exercise,disable any encryption(wep/wpa) that you have running.Usually done on the router's admin page
    Also,what firewall do you running on the desktop?Windows or a third party like Zone Alarm?
     
  7. Droops9

    Droops9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    i have F-secure (its from charter)
     
  8. Droops9

    Droops9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    i couldnt get the vista to connect to the printer, but i did change the workgroups to what i have on my desktop, and made sure they have the same share name, and same location(if that matters)
     
  9. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    From the laptops,were you able to see the shared printer on the desktop(\\computername)of the desktop,and please confirm that the firewall is disabled on the desktop.Control panel/security.The firewall entry should be off.
    Any error messages?
    The share name of the printer should be reflected on the shared printer entry that you created on the laptops.

    From your post #8 "and same location"? Please clarify for me what you mean.
    Thanks
     
  10. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    You said the printer has an ethernet port so why even worry about a USB connection? There should be some way for you to print a test page from your software package but if this proves to be too confusing, iowuld suggest you ditch the ethernet connection and install it via USB and then share it from the laptop.

    The printer is going to have an address in the 192.168.1.x range so I would start pinging addresses beginning with .1 up to .10 and see what returns. A little time consuming but you will find the IP Address of that printer for sure.
     
  11. The Gimp

    The Gimp It's My Birthday!

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Pedro,

    After a couple of hours of stuffing around looking at other forums all I had to do was change the workgroup name on the Laptop and the printer started moving. Thanks for your help. Good luck Droops surely you are not far off from completing your task.

    Gimp.
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    With the printer connected to the router using the Ethernet cable, try running SuperScan on your network's subnet, it'll detect all the network devices present that respond to a ping.
     
  13. The Gimp

    The Gimp It's My Birthday!

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Should clarify.

    Also running a printer conected to a Desktop running XP and a laptop running Vista Home Premium.

    Gimp
     
  14. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    That should be the easier of the two connections to make.
     
  15. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Gimp:Glad some info on this thread helped you.Thanks for the feedback
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/596626

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice