1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Sharing Dial Up Connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mike12975, Feb 14, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mike12975

    mike12975 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    I have 2 computers networked with crossover cable sharing files etc. One is Win XP and the other is Win 98. I want to be able to share the internet connection . Anyone tell me what to do? This is a dial up connevtion
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    You'll need to set up ICS (internet connection sharing) on the main one......but if you're on dialup, it's going to be painful surfing.....
     
  3. james_cripps

    james_cripps

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    What you Need to Do is Set up the Win Xp Computer Directly to the Connection"Phoneline" On your Dail Up connection (Start>Connect To>Whatever You named your connection)Right click and go to properties. Click on the advanced Tab. Under the advanced tab check the box that says "Allow other computers to access the internet from my this computer". Then you should be good to Go.:D
     
  4. stranglehold

    stranglehold

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    404
    Why would it be any slower than just plain dial up if the local network is at least as fast as the dial up connection?
     
  5. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Well, this is a very, very old thread ;) I see you've posted to two more than a year old threads today :) If you have an issue, it is usually best to start your own thread for better assistance. That being said, I have always been led to believe that any internet connection that is being shared is diminished by the number of users sharing that same connection. Since the fastest dialup I've seen is 56K at best, I would assume that would be shared among everyone else surfing the net at the same time, thus reducing their actual connection speed. If I am wrong, and I certainly could be ;) I am sure someone will come along and correct me.
     
  6. stranglehold

    stranglehold

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    404
    Old threads can be good threads too.:) I try to utilize a search 1st to get some answers.

    I was thinking that if only one person was actually surfing at the time, they should see the same throughput regardless of which pc they were on. Would this be a correct assumption.

    I do not really have an issue. I am just trying to figure out if this type of setup would work for our environment.
     
  7. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I would tend to concurr with your belief that if only one person were surfing, they would get the entire bandwith available. Also keep in mind that it is rare to be able to connect at the top dialup speed even under the best of conditions. I would really recommend a cable modem with a router, or DSL over dial up ;)
     
  8. AnyShadow

    AnyShadow

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    If you can't get cable or DSL because of your location. The next best bet is the 3Com LanModem (or an equivalent device).

    It won't let you surf any faster, but you won't need both PCs turned on, and you'll be lightening the load on the primary PC.
     
  9. stranglehold

    stranglehold

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    404
    Yea, no cable or dsl here.

    Lanmodem or a broadband router with dial-up capabilities would work. The smc7004abr is about 1/4 the price of the lanmodem.

    Do you have any experience with either of them?
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/118779

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice