1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Sharing DSL Connection: How?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Strafe, Jul 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Strafe

    Strafe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Hello,

    We have two computers, a desktop and a laptop and a DSL connection. What is the simplest and alternative ways to share a DSL connection? Do you need to buy a router?

    Any quick help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. bassetman

    bassetman Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    47,973
    A router is the best/easiest way to go. Give us some info on your OS's etc and I'm sure someone can help soon! ;)

    PS Welcome to TSG! ;)
     
  3. Strafe

    Strafe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks. Both computers are running Windows XP. I read somewhere that it is possible to connect using ICS. Can someone elaborate this method?
     
  4. bassetman

    bassetman Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    47,973
    If you get DSL/Cable, and let the provider hook up the system, everything from there on out should be cake! ;)
     
  5. StumpedTechy

    StumpedTechy

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,235
    ICS is using 1 PC to connect to an internet device (like a cablemodem od DSL modem) and then haveing a second networking interface to connect to other networked devices. All other devices use that first PC as a gateway to get ALL internet signals.

    Pros -
    No buying of router hardware

    Cons -
    Main PC has to be on for the others to get signal.
    ICS can be finiky.
    If you have to replace/add a PC you usually have to go through extra steps to get it running on your ICS network.
    ICS does not allow for some of the advanced networking items like a DMZ.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/482772

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice