1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Sharing PC Internet to Android Mobile Using Router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by inproblem, Dec 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. inproblem

    inproblem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    i have Reliance Net Connect (USB modem) to connect the internet to my PC
    it is working well with my PC....
    now i have a UTStarcom wireless Router Modem
    what i want to do is using the internet connection i have on my pc (which is connected via Reliance Net Connect) with the help of the router i found, i want to share the internet with my Android Mobile
    is it possible to reverse the internet?
    i mean usually its like modem to pc
    i want to share my PC internet to my Mobile using the WiFi router
    (i have no broadband connection)
     
  2. inproblem

    inproblem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    hello to all the guets ( non-members)
    if u guys knows the help to this, plz mail me : [email addr. deleted by Mod]

    for non indian ussers: Reliance Net Connect is an USB Modem (uses mobile network GPRS (2G/3G) to connect to internet using dailer provided by them or just by using windows connection setup)

    there at the dailer of that i get options like:

    # Use DSN
    # Static IP adress

    plz help me, i badly need the solution to this.......
     
  3. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    If you have a wireless router and the phone has a wireless network adapter, they connect. That's it.
     
  4. inproblem

    inproblem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Dear DoubleHelix
    the wireless router i have has no broad band internet connection to it (like DSL)

    i have seperate USB modem wish i use to connect to internet to my PC
    now i want to use that my pc internet to my mobile using wifi router
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,803
    First Name:
    Terry
    All help is to be done on the forum; you are lucky I did not give you an infraction for trying to get people to reveal their email addresses to you. If you are seriously trying to encourage guests to help then encourage them to register.

    You can try Internet Connection Sharing and use the router as follows ...

    JohnWill's procedure (Aug. 30, 2008) for configuring a secondary router as a switch and, optionally, wireless access point follows.

    Connecting two (or more) SOHO broadband routers together.

    Note: The "primary" router can be an actual router, a software gateway like Microsoft Internet Connection Sharing, or a server connection that has the capability to supply more than one IP address using DHCP server capability. No changes are made to the primary "router" configuration.

    Configure the IP address of the secondary router(s) to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of the DHCP server in the primary router. For instance DHCP server addresses 192.168.0.2 through 192.168.0.100, I'd assign the secondary router 192.168.0.254 as it's IP address, 192.168.0.253 for another router, etc.

    Note: Do this first, as you will have to reboot the computer to connect to the router again for the remaining changes.

    Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

    Setup the wireless section just the way you would if it was the primary router, channels, encryption, etc.

    Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. If there is no uplink port and neither of the routers have auto-sensing ports, use a cross-over cable. [You will not need a cross-over cable if one of the "routers" is a computer.] Leave the WAN port unconnected!

    This procedure bypasses the routing function (NAT layer) and configures the router as a switch (or wireless access point for wireless routers).

    For reference, here's a link to a Typical example config using a Netgear router
     
  6. inproblem

    inproblem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    dear MOD, first of all, i am sorry to ask mail help frm Guests.
    but my intentions were not abt getting know their mail IDs.
    now abt my problem, ur procedure does not work with me
    # i dont have broad band connection
    # when i set my USB modem's IP adress other than "Obtaib Autometically", it changes back to Obtaib Autometically only
    # and when i desable the DHCP server in the wifi router modem, my mobile does not get wifi connected
    says failed to obtain IP adress
    what to do?
    any more information needed by end?
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,803
    First Name:
    Terry
    Apology accepted.

    There is nothing in the procedure about messing with your USB modem's connection, other than to enable ICS on it.

    For the PC ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  8. inproblem

    inproblem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : RakheshHegde-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    PPP adapter Wireless Terminal:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Wireless Terminal
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 115.184.175.20(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 220.226.6.104
    220.226.100.40
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-83-15-A3-10
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-C6-7D-15-91
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{0AF411FD-61C1-4F00-9ECA-34A692634663}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{F8A6DCB8-AB64-4A57-9AFE-CDF962BEEB9D}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{6605DAFD-553E-4804-BD98-60DC40F787C5}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:73b8:af14::73b8:af14(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2002:c058:6301::c058:6301
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 220.226.6.104
    220.226.100.40
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:1cd7:f5a:8c47:c8f(Prefer
    red)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1cd7:f5a:8c47:c8f%16(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled




    this the info u wanted right? and thanks for understanding n accepting apologies....
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,803
    First Name:
    Terry
    Configure the router per the above procedure then connect it to the PC by ethernet and enable ICS on the "Wireless Terminal" connection.
     
  10. inproblem

    inproblem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    once i change the IP adress of the wifi router (which is secondery, primery is my PC right?) the router does not allow me to access it settings (by typing its ip in the browser "http://192.168.1.1") so when it does not allow me to get in to its settings i cannot be able to make changes in DHCP.
    so i tried changing the DHCP setting wihtout changing the routers IP in PC's Network and Sharing section, once thats done, in my mobile i cannot get wifi connected
    it says "Obtaining IP adress from the wifi router failed"
    what do to make it work?
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,803
    First Name:
    Terry
    The router is secondary and the PC is primary. I don't know why you cannot access the router after changing its LAN IP address, but 192.168.1.1 is not correct. With a Windows 7 PC I think you need to assign an IP of 192.168.137.x. For earlier versions of Windows you would assign 192.168.0.254 to the router.
     
  12. inproblem

    inproblem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    my tries:
    i assigned 192.168.137.1 and 192.168.137.100 (in the PC, Network and Sharing section for the Local area Network TCP/IP4 of my Wifi Router)
    once i did that, the wifi router stopped allowing me to access to its settings
    then i changed the IP back to 192.168.1.254, the router gave access
    i desabled the DHCP option
    after that my mobiles gave error to connect to wifi with "Failed Obtain IP adress from Router"
    i changed DHCP option enabled, my mobile connects to wifi
    what to do now???
    (i have enabled Internet Sharing on my wireless terminal which is USB modem)
     
  13. inproblem

    inproblem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    in the router>Advanced Settings> LAN> IP adress and Subnet Mask were set to
    192.168.1.1 and 255.255.255.0
    do i need to ulter them or i just need to ulter the IPs in the PC?
     
  14. inproblem

    inproblem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    do i need to cross over cable?
    but with this lan cable, i can acess pc, mobile using wifi router
    do i need to try cross over cable?
     
  15. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    I have always wanted to ask this question because I have been seeing a lot of non english speaking people posting on the forums lately. Do they not have technology forums in your native language in your country?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1032236

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice